anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?  (Read 20637 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MIKE.UTD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« on: August 04, 2016, 03:45:35 PM »
Hi,

My AirNav box has died, aerial checked and working okay so may be box.

Anyone know whats best ie new box or dongle ?

Thanks for any help.

Mike.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31909
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2016, 05:38:54 PM »
A new box is not easy to come by now.  A dongle will work fine with RB6.  I have the nooelec one as detailed on the other thread https://www.amazon.co.uk/NooElec-NESDR-Mini-Compatible-Guaranteed/dp/B00P2UOU72/ref=lp_3927625031_1_2?srs=3927625031&ie=UTF8&qid=1470331988&sr=8-2  I use it when mobile to try and minimise the risk of damage to my box.

All you need to do is download and install the Zadig drivers and RB6 and it works a treat.  You will also need the SMA to MCX adapter as detailed by Ingo for your antenna.  The mini antenna that comes with the dongle will not give good at our frequency as it is designed for TV although it can be cut to the correct length for best reception.  I got a replacement one from off the internet.

Airnav also do a dongle which only needs RB6 http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AirNav-RadarBox-Micro-Seconday-Radar-1090MHz-Aircraft-ADSB-Receiver-and-Antenna-/291766353239

Alan
« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 05:55:30 PM by Runway 31 »

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2016, 06:06:13 PM »
Finally I've that one in use for 24/7 operation:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/NooElec-NESDR-Mini-Receiver-RTL2832U/dp/B00VZ1AWQA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470333830&sr=8-1&keywords=nooelec+nesdr+mini+2

The other dongles are still in use with sdr# for some other stuff and of course for mobile activities.

Ingo
« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 06:09:36 PM by neroon79 »
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2016, 07:30:35 PM »
Alan, are most of the Radarbox Classic boxes dead by now?  I am still running on my original and have never had any problems with it...

Jason
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31909
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2016, 07:47:45 PM »
No there will still be plenty out there working away, mines is but I prefer to leave it in the house now.  Trying to find one to purchase wont be easy

Alan

MIKE.UTD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2016, 08:12:18 PM »
Thanks for all your help, looks like a dongle it is.

Mike.

MIKE.UTD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2016, 08:22:41 PM »
Alan/Ingo,
You show 2 different dongles, just a few pounds in it which is best ?
Sorry to be a pain but thanks again for your help.

or :
www.amazon.co.uk/AirNav-Micro-RadarBox-ADS-B-Receiver/dp/B01GNGZAIG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470345001&sr=8-1&keywords=airnav

Why is one £34 and one £60, as £34 with a new aerial seems a good price ?

Mike.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 09:20:24 PM by MIKE.UTD »

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2016, 02:41:42 AM »
The one I linked has a different type of Oszillator which has a slightly improved  frequency stability and accuracy than the one Alan had linked. Furthermore the one I linked includes a SMA to MCX adapter.

About AirNav Hardware: I don't know the specification of the Hardware that was used to build it. But as it was put on the market before the more sensitive  R820T2 receiver chip became available I would say it's based on the R820T receiver chip.

If you ask me which one to buy of course I would say the one I linked.

There are many reasons for a price difference. Here are some of them (list might not be complete): Hardware used, number of units sold, content of the package, calculation of units to sold to get the development costs back.

Ingo
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 03:52:48 AM by neroon79 »
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

Lila1926

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2016, 06:45:48 AM »
Quote
You show 2 different dongles, just a few pounds in it which is best ?

This is best dongle for ADS-B.  Has a built-in amplifier.  I have two.  Works better than specialist receivers.  And much cheaper.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/FlightAware-Pro-Stick-ADS-B-Receiver/dp/B01D1ZAP3C/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1470379288&sr=8-3&keywords=flightaware

£13.27

https://www.amazon.com/FlightAware-Pro-Stick-ADS-B-Receiver/dp/B01D1ZAP3C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470379404&sr=8-1&keywords=flightaware

$16.95

Read the reviews.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31909
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2016, 06:57:21 AM »
Be advised that the advert above states that the Pro stick also require the FlightAware ADS-B Filter which will add another £16.85 to the cost

Alan

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31909
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2016, 07:00:32 AM »
Thanks Ingo, I thought they were the same sticks going by the text on the side of them and then I noticed mines in the mini2 and your in the mini2+. 

Alan

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31909
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2016, 07:01:54 AM »
Mike at the end of the day the choice is yours, all shown will work well.  The good thing is the price, next to nothing compared the cost of your original box.

Alan

Lila1926

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2016, 07:04:31 AM »
Quote
Be advised that the advert above states that the Pro stick also require the FlightAware ADS-B Filter which will add another £16.85 to the cost

I don't use filter.  But filters are needed by all dongles, including Airnav if strong signals on nearby frequencies.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31909
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2016, 07:51:23 AM »
Thanks Lila, I was just going by the blurb on the Amazon advert which states it is required and yes cell towers in particular can be a killer.

 • 20dB Integrated Amplifier which can increase your ADSB range 30-100% more compared to other dongles
• Requires FlightAware ADS-B Filter or modified dump1090 gain settings
• Supported by PiAware
• R820T2 RTL2832U chips
• USB powered, 5V @ 300mA

I guess they are just trying to get you to spend more money

Alan
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 07:56:30 AM by Runway 31 »

Lila1926

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: AIRNAV box died/new box or Dongle ?
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2016, 08:05:13 AM »
Quote
I guess they are just trying to get you to spend more money

I don't think.   Filter works for some and FlightAware says it sells at cost price, no profit.  And this seems true.

I have filter here, but dont use as makes no difference.  But if you need filter you must use for Airnav and all dongles.