anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: RTL-SDR Dongle  (Read 34745 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
RTL-SDR Dongle
« on: December 02, 2015, 03:49:06 AM »
Hi

We are preparing the release of V6.00 of the RadarBox Windows software.
It will be open to anyone with a valid RadarBox24 username/password and will enable the connection of RTL-SDR dongles.

If you have a RTL-SDR dongle and want to be a beta tester please send us an email to [email protected]

All the best!

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2015, 10:29:41 AM »
Email sent. It will be good to get back up and running with Radarbox, as my existing RB hardware now has an intermittent fault :(

So I can prepare, are you using RTL1090 or Dump1090?
« Last Edit: December 03, 2015, 02:00:04 PM by tarbat »

lennox2604

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2015, 03:25:38 PM »
What about wee pour souls with the original Radarbox
are we to be abandoned and discarded or will 6.0 work with an original radarbox



Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32033
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2015, 04:12:24 PM »
I would imagine that it is V5.00.72 designed to work with a stick with no other changes but will find out

Alan

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2015, 08:44:22 AM »
Hi Alan,

I can confirm, that V6.00.000 works with old Hardware too.

Following hierarchy seems to be applied:

1. RBCS (Radarbox Comstation, currently buggy bahaviour)
2. MicroRB ([Any] SDR DVB-T Dongle that works with alternative ZADIG Driver can be used, I haven't tested, what happens if ZADIG Driver isn't installed, I have noticed a problem with Ground speed (GS) display)
3. RBCL (Radarbox Classic Hardware)

After migrating to Win10 Pro I have this hierachy:

1. MicroRB ([Any] SDR DVB-T Dongle that works with alternative ZADIG Driver can be used, I haven't tested, what happens if ZADIG Driver isn't installed, I have noticed a problem with Ground speed (GS) display)
2. RBCS (Radarbox Comstation, currently buggy bahaviour)
3. RBCL (Radarbox Classic Hardware)

The rest is similar to V5.00.072 without 3D option.

Regards Ingo
« Last Edit: December 25, 2015, 05:54:44 AM by neroon79 »
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2015, 08:52:36 AM »
So, it doesn't need RTL1090 or Dump1090 running?

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2015, 08:57:29 AM »
Affirmative. Dump1090 or RTL1090 not needed for operation.

Ingo
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

lennox2604

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2015, 02:32:55 PM »
Good nice to know the original boxes are going to work with version 6.0
hope my antenna is still on roof after Desmond has passed


acars45

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2015, 08:45:08 AM »
Basestation do SBS plotter could Airnav systems do something like this for radarbox

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2015, 02:24:36 PM »
Not heard anything back from support. Has anyone else managed to sign-up for this beta?  I was hoping to get some testing done this weekend.  I have good coverage
« Last Edit: December 05, 2015, 02:27:51 PM by tarbat »

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2015, 10:24:37 AM »
Okay, up and running.  Thanks Airnav.  Very impressed with the RTL-SDR dongle, getting much better reception, especially down to low altitudes at EGPE, below 700ft compared to over 2000ft with the Radarbox hardware.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2015, 06:02:17 PM by tarbat »

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2015, 12:17:01 PM »
Does anyone have an RTL dongle that they can recommend?  Or are they all pretty much the same?
I like the ones that have the SMA female adaptor.

regards,

Jason
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

oliver14

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2015, 02:53:36 PM »
I too would like to know what people use, I am not very well up on these and there are quite a few out there,

cheers.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2015, 03:30:24 PM »
This is what I'm using.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B009VBUYA0?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00
The important bits are the RTL2832U+R820T chipset.  The R820T2 is apparently even better.

Take a look at http://www.rtl-sdr.com as well.

oliver14

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2015, 03:35:54 PM »
Many thanks Tarbat.