anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: RTL-SDR Dongle  (Read 35117 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #30 on: December 13, 2015, 10:54:17 PM »
The purpose of the new RadarBox Windows software is to:
- Get data from the new RadarBox Micro RadarBox units.
- Work with the brand new RadarBox ComStation unit which is able of not only getting ADS-B data but also GPS/Audio.
- Enable login/use the software to RadarBox24.com users

It is also capable of working with general Dongles.


Javaradiofrance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • JavaradioFrance
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #31 on: December 14, 2015, 03:39:15 AM »
Thank you.

Javaradiofrance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • JavaradioFrance
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #32 on: December 14, 2015, 03:19:07 PM »
For information, it works.
I have not optimized the location of the antenna, but I get the signals of some aircraft. We can already confirm that this dongle "http://rtlsdrblog.rtlsdrblog.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/widesdr2.jpg" is adapted with software version 6.0 Beta Radarbox.
Screenshot here: http://www.javaradiofrance.com/gare/capture2.png

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #33 on: December 14, 2015, 05:46:26 PM »
Quote from: AirNav Development
- Work with the brand new RadarBox ComStation unit which is able of not only getting ADS-B data but also GPS/Audio.

If you need someone to beta test the ComStation with v6, I'm happy to do so as well as testing the RTL-SDR dongle.

Javaradiofrance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • JavaradioFrance
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #34 on: December 14, 2015, 05:55:34 PM »
Before the end of the week I will test another Dongle SDR-RTL.
The more we can test different Dongle SDR-RTL, the more we will have a list of compatible hardware.

Javaradiofrance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • JavaradioFrance
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #35 on: December 14, 2015, 06:19:01 PM »
I understand " my English is basic, I am French :-) ", a new SDR-RTL-based hardware will soon be marketing? But will have the opportunity to broadcast radio communications? If this is the case, I'll have to put money aside for a future acquisition.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 06:20:46 PM by Javaradiofrance »

Javaradiofrance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • JavaradioFrance
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #36 on: December 14, 2015, 06:57:37 PM »
Quote
- Work with the brand new RadarBox ComStation unit which is able of not only getting ADS-B data but also GPS/Audio.quote]
Quote
" Tarbat " If you need someone to beta test the ComStation with v6, I'm happy to do so as well as testing the RTL-SDR dongle.


Me too.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 07:02:43 PM by Javaradiofrance »

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32247
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #37 on: December 14, 2015, 07:51:51 PM »
Javaradiofrance, just to confirm it is the comstation that is VHF capable.  If you wish to be considered for one go to Radarbox24.com and complete the form in Increase Coverage.

Alan

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #38 on: December 15, 2015, 07:37:15 PM »
Alan, just to confirm with the Comstation, are they looking for people who can actually provide the ATC audio feeds as well?  As you know, I have a large amount of scanners and have a Diamond D3000N antenna way up that allows me crystal clear CYYZ communication.

regards,

Jason

2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32247
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #39 on: December 15, 2015, 08:35:28 PM »
Jason

The comstation is equipped with a scanner which picks up the VHF transmissions and streams them back.

Alan

Javaradiofrance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • JavaradioFrance
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #40 on: December 17, 2015, 08:49:21 AM »
I have no ComStation. RadarBox using my dongle or SDR DXPatrol.

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #41 on: December 25, 2015, 05:57:05 AM »
Somehow migrating to Win10 Professional has changed the hierarchy of unit detection.

Quote from: reply#4
After migrating to Win10 Pro I have this hierachy:

1. MicroRB ([Any] SDR DVB-T Dongle that works with alternative ZADIG Driver can be used, I haven't tested, what happens if ZADIG Driver isn't installed, I have noticed a problem with Ground speed (GS) display)
2. RBCS (Radarbox Comstation, currently buggy bahaviour)
3. RBCL (Radarbox Classic Hardware)

Ingo

Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

moka

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #42 on: January 12, 2016, 02:02:54 PM »
Is there something that need to be done in Radarbox to have the dongle detected?
The dongle is working fine with RTL1090 and plane plotter but for some reason Radarbox don't detect it.

Thanks!

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #43 on: January 12, 2016, 02:22:53 PM »
You need V6.00.000 of ANRB Software ( http://www.airnavsystems.com/download/ANRB/ ). Further ANRB Software needs exclusive access to the RTL SDR dongle. If RTL1090 or dump1090 is already running, ANRB.exe won't detect the dongle.

Ingo
« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 02:25:48 PM by neroon79 »
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32247
Re: RTL-SDR Dongle
« Reply #44 on: January 12, 2016, 03:03:21 PM »
You can also send data from Planeplotter to Airnav via its Options/Sharing/Set Up and tick Secondary Sharing, Enable sharing to Radarbox24.

Alan