AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...  (Read 4747 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Over the last few weeks, I have been seeing more and more duplicate flight ID's attached to two very different aircraft.  Any explanations?  The first few times I just let it go, but this is probably the 5th time this week I have seen this...

Look at the ASP298, One is for Airsprint which is correct, the other is showing as British Airways....completely impossible..


DuplicateFlightID by CYYZGUY, on Flickr
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2014, 01:39:45 AM »
And funny enough, we have BAW91V showing up with the Airsprint logo.  Again, this is impossible?

See screenshot.


BAW81V by CYYZGUY, on Flickr
« Last Edit: March 01, 2014, 02:14:30 AM by CYYZGUY »
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32522
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2014, 08:05:54 AM »
I will raise it with the developer Jason.  Regarding your second shot, once the logo is allocated to the flight it doesnt change until the next time it is picked up, therefore ones the software has sorted itself out the logo stays even although the flight ID changes.

Alan

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2014, 11:35:10 AM »
Quote from: Alan
Regarding your second shot, once the logo is allocated to the flight it doesnt change until the next time it is picked up, therefore ones the software has sorted itself out the logo stays even although the flight ID changes.
Maybe this feature should be changed as well.
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32522
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2014, 12:35:53 PM »
There is not an autoupdate for logos

Alan

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2014, 06:33:31 PM »
Another example today
Flight ID CGOHG

Notice the Mods-S being very similar except for one character....

Very strange...


Duplicate by CYYZGUY, on Flickr
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2014, 06:48:34 PM »
After disconnecting and re-connecting hardware flights, the problem went away...?

2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2014, 11:58:52 PM »
Am I the only person seeing duplicate flight id's occasionally?

Again tonight, AC777 X2 at the same time....

Jason
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2014, 01:21:17 AM »
An update...

I am watching RS7487, 2 of them right now, and their altitude is jumping all over the place,,,from 5000 to 35000 feet.

This seems to be happening mostly with Mode-S aircraft.

The Mode-s seems to be always one or 2  digit off as well and they flip back and forth between the 2 aircraft....

C00B7E and C00B7C


RS7487 double by CYYZGUY, on Flickr

Any explanation Airnav....

Jason
« Last Edit: March 05, 2014, 01:31:17 AM by CYYZGUY »
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32522
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2014, 09:09:07 AM »
Jason,

In Preferences/Radarbox, what setting do you have for Filter garbled Flight ID,s and Squwaks.  If its ticked untick it to see how it goes and if its unticked , tick it.

Unfortunately mode-s aircraft cannot be error checked the same as ADSB aircraft.  We have it set to be the same message received on 2 consecutive signals, any more and flights are not displayed as they would be filtered out because we could not confirm the correct aircraft.  We had it set to 5 at first which was very good but too many flight were not displayed especially in areas of poor radar coverage.  Two was the best compromise between display and not display even if a few error crept in in the flight ID's.  Other boxes had the same problem and they went for 2 as well.

Alan

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2014, 09:59:59 AM »
Hi Alan, it was not checked.  I have enabled it and will monitor the results.  I just find it funny that I started seeing this after the .65 upgrade..

Never ever before have I seen this problem.

thank you!

Jason
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32522
Re: Duplicate flight ID's??? I am seeing this rather frequently...
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2014, 10:06:48 AM »
Jason,

That setting has been there since V5 came along.  With it checked you should see better results.  Even with requiring the same for only two consecutive signals, flights will not be displayed in some areas due to the lack of interogation by ground based radar so we gave the option of switching off the check.  Fortunately you are in a terminal area with plenty of radar interogations going on.

Alan