AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Excuse my ignorance...  (Read 1921 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

granpa

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Excuse my ignorance...
« on: January 02, 2014, 01:42:01 PM »
Can anyone tell me why i get aircraft coming up in the grid that don't appear on the radar normally its small stuff and owned by smaller company's, there's nearly always a picture yet they don't appear when i click on them.

Andy

Northern Watch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Excuse my ignorance...
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 01:54:15 PM »
Hi granpa

I think I can answer this one, please refer to the following link and all will be explained (I hope).

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=6322.msg68716#msg68716

Regards

NW

granpa

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Excuse my ignorance...
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 01:56:39 PM »
Ahh ok thanks for that all becomes clear now....

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33701
Re: Excuse my ignorance...
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 02:03:48 PM »
Hi Andy,

Aircraft need to be ADSB equipped to show on the map as amongst the information given by this equipment is positional data.  Most smaller stuff, biz jets, military and some airliners such as Flybe's DHC8,s only have mode-s equipment so while we can pick them up and know that they are around they dont give off their positional information as ADSB equipped aircraft do, so cant be shown on the map.

Alan
« Last Edit: January 02, 2014, 02:06:18 PM by Runway 31 »

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9141
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Excuse my ignorance...
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2014, 02:50:10 PM »
Granpa and other newcomers may find my web page here helpful: http://rodbearden.com/RadarBox/RadBox1.htm
Rod