AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Network Server - Update  (Read 97505 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Network Server - Update
« on: January 06, 2013, 05:26:54 AM »
We continue imporving our server system by adding some new redudant devices and faster processors.
Because of this we've again changed IP address for our main server which my cause connection problems to some users during the next 24 hours. We apologize for this fact.

The good news is that we are signficantly improving our infrastructure to enable further growth on our AirNav RadarBox and ShipTrax networks.

SpeedWagon

  • Guest
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2013, 05:57:04 AM »
The last time it was a week before your new address was propagated to ISPs in Canada. Can you suggest a public DNS server that I can use until things stabilize and what is the new address?

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 06:23:02 AM »
The new server is located at 74.55.96.226
Ask you ISP to do a DNS flush.

You can also do this on your computer by going to your command prompt and type:
ipconfig /flushdns

DNS propagation should never take more than 24 hours.

EK01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4835
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2013, 10:12:09 AM »
AN,

As you say, connections to the server are especially slow today however there would appear to be an additonal problem in that the 'logos' page had entries for yesterday the 5th January which do not appear to be there today the 6th January. The last entries go back to the 4th January or have the 5th January entries been moved or accidentally deleted by the server problems ?

Eventually got this to post !

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32252
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 11:31:59 AM »
Just got the forum back along with RB24, still no network yet.

Alan

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32252
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2013, 12:58:24 PM »
Got the forum back by copying 74.55.96.226 into the address bar.  Is there anway of doing the same for RB and getting the network back?

Alan

flygfantast

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1006
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2013, 01:56:19 PM »
Quote from: SpeedWagon
Can you suggest a public DNS server

You can always use Googles Public DNS, see https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/

Niklas
Antenna: External WiMo GP-1090 (~10m over the ground)
Pre-amplifier: AS-1090 with AS-1090BT
Cable: Ecoflex-10 (10m+1m)
Location: Motala, Sweden, 250km from ESSA & ESGG
Nearest airports: 50km from ESSL & ESCF (military)
My photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/flygfantast/

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2013, 03:49:18 PM »
Still no network here in Toronto Canada.  10:45 AM EST

regards,

2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32252
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2013, 03:55:55 PM »
I dont think it is available anywhere yet, certainly isnt for me here in Scotland

Alan

2E0FLP

  • Guest
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2013, 04:16:21 PM »
Unable to use 3D (again !!) even though the status on the AirNav website says online.

I would now like some information/ reassurance from AirNav Systems as to the future reliability  of being able to use the 3D aspect of my aircraft monitoring setup. No 3D, no need of Radarbox, simple as that. Quite frankly, since before Christmas the service from AirNav Systems has not been what I would expect.

I am well aware of the reasons why these out outages have taken place. I have no interest in the web based offering being developed at the moment and as mentioned in a post from the RB24 forum:

Quote
RadarBox24.com and AirNav RadarBox (the hardware system) are completely different solutions.

It seems unfair that one product should impact on the other.

From an increasingly dissatisfied customer.

Paul

Chris11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2013, 04:39:42 PM »
No network here - not an IP issue

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2013, 04:46:32 PM »
We are still waiting for the new IP to be propagated all over the world. Theoretically it could take up to 48 hours.
We have our extrenal/outsourced monitoring devices and we see that is has propgated to 75% of locations right
now.

The network is fully working but couldn't be available until propagation is finished. Every single feature (3D etc) will of course be fully working after this server upgrades are finished (in 24-48 hours) and we will be ready to solve any extra pending issues that might happen.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2013, 06:52:57 PM »
I can understand that network servers go down occasionally, but I do have a concern about some aspects of AirNav products where we've paid a one-off, up front fee, that will only work with a live connection to AirNav servers:
    - Radarbox 3D functionality.
    - ShipTrax (the 2 or 4 week rule).

Maybe AirNav should redesign these products to be more tolerant to server/network failures.  Something for me to test in the next beta(s).
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 07:29:45 PM by tarbat »

2E0FLP

  • Guest
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2013, 08:01:36 PM »
Well said that man !! (tarbat)

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4120
Re: Network Server - Update
« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2013, 08:56:14 PM »
Thats exactly what we are doing, the last server issue over xmas should not have happened. We are now investing in having multiple server and network points so if there is a failure on one we can use the other instantly to limit downtime.

The RadarBox 3D is Google license limitation.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]