anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Box unworkable  (Read 9295 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sylwek

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Box unworkable
« on: October 09, 2012, 07:22:24 PM »
Hi all in the forum,

My Box suddenly stopped to decode anything (previous range with outdoor aerial about 120 Nm). Airnav support suggests me to send the Box to Waters & Stanton PLC.  But I'm in Poland so that is the "last chance" solution I will undertake. May be somebody in the forum had similar error (part of elf file below) and a solution could be simpler than sending the Box overseas.

elf file header
EurekaLog 6.0.18

Application:
------------------------------------------------------
  1.1 Start Date      : Sun, 7 Oct 2012 20:50:33 +0200
  1.2 Name/Description: ANRB.exe
  1.3 Version Number  : 3.1.1.77
  1.4 Parameters      :
  1.5 Compilation Date: Sun, 7 Feb 2010 05:25:59 +0200
  1.6 Up Time         : 34 seconds

Exception:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  2.1 Date          : Sun, 7 Oct 2012 20:51:08 +0200
  2.2 Address       : 0081BCC9
  2.3 Module Name   : ANRB.exe
  2.4 Module Version: 3.1.1.77
  2.5 Type          : EAccessViolation
  2.6 Message       : Access violation at address 0081BCC9 in module 'ANRB.exe'. Read of address 000003E4.
  2.7 ID            : A96B
  2.8 Count         : 1
  2.9 Status        : New
  2.10 Note         :

end of elf,

Best regards,

Sylvester, Poland

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33406
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 07:46:01 PM »
Sylvester,

If its software related, re-install the software may sort it but I would have thought support would have taken that into account with their suggestion.

Alan

andrewarles

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2410
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 07:54:57 PM »
Sylvester,

As Alan suggests, before sending it to be repaired try re-installing the software.  Before doing so, make a backup of the NavData and Mylog files in the data folder.

Once the software has been re-installed, try running it before restoring the NavData and Mylog files.

Andrew
« Last Edit: October 09, 2012, 07:58:26 PM by andrewarles »
16 NM SSW of LFMV (Avignon)
27 NM NW of LFML (Marseille)
Arles, France.

Sylwek

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2012, 07:46:51 AM »
Thank you for answers.  I have reinstalled soft/drivers (in various versions to be sure) on the same machine and on the another one - unfortunately without any effect. So it seems to be hardware malfunction:-(

Regards,

Sylvester

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2012, 10:20:20 AM »
I experienced the same problem.  The box worked well for three months then just stopped receiving.  Support suggested I send it to Water & Stanton, which I did.  That was two months ago, I received a letter from them a few days back, informing me that they have received the box.

John
ZS1AGH
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.

freqhopping

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2012, 09:10:02 PM »
If the signal light isn't flashing, the hardware is bad.  My has failed twice.

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2012, 07:12:45 AM »
My box has been returned from Waters & Stanton, but is sitting on the shelf at our local post office.  Customs won't release it until I pay import tax.
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.

Sylwek

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2012, 07:08:24 PM »
Excuse me, import tax ?! I had to pay it when I bought a new product. If it came from repair this is the same product (or replaced one) but not the second one for may shelf. John, have you asked post office staff what is a law basis for requesting import tax in this case ?
I have not send my RB to W&S yet so this is important question.

Signal light flashes weekly in blue. The answer what is going on is hidden in a line " Access violation at address 0081BCC9 in module 'ANRB.exe'. Read of address 000003E4." of elf file because it's the same in reinstalled soft on two different computers I have checked. Unfortunately only Airnav programmers could decode this.

Best regards,

Sylvester

CoastGuardJon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Mullion Cove, Kernow --- sw Cornwall UK.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2012, 08:20:52 PM »
Hi F, it sounds as though you'll need to contact your local Customs office to explain that you had sent this unit away for repair and that any Import duty had been paid by the dealer who imported it.   HTH
ANRB :  AOR AR8000 : Icom R-7000 : Icom IC-R9000 : JRC NRD-545 : OptoElectronics Digital Scout and OptoLinx Interface; Realistic Pro-2005 : UBC 800XLT - listed in alphabetical order, not cost, preference, performance or entertainment value!

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2012, 07:30:59 AM »
Spoke to the customs officials, they want written proof that it was returned and repaired under warranty.   

Got an email from AirNav confirming that the unit was returned and repaired under warranty, so will send that to customs next week.

Hold thumbs for me guys, I don't want to pay the government unnecessary money.
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.

CoastGuardJon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Mullion Cove, Kernow --- sw Cornwall UK.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2012, 07:28:35 PM »
Hi John,
That sounds more hopeful, although I suspect they'll want a hard copy on paper to file (that's how Civil Service Agencies and Depts. all work in the UK -- speaking as a reluctantly bureaucratic UK Government Agency employee!!!).   I can't remember if AirNav enclosed any sort of Invoice/Delivery Note when they returned mine under warranty.
ANRB :  AOR AR8000 : Icom R-7000 : Icom IC-R9000 : JRC NRD-545 : OptoElectronics Digital Scout and OptoLinx Interface; Realistic Pro-2005 : UBC 800XLT - listed in alphabetical order, not cost, preference, performance or entertainment value!

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2012, 12:48:06 PM »
There might be something in the box, who knows. 

As I told the Customs Official, I do not know what is in the box, it could be the old device that has been repaired, it could be a brand new device, it could be the old one that is unserviceable.

I will not know untill I have opened it.
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.

CoastGuardJon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Mullion Cove, Kernow --- sw Cornwall UK.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2012, 01:37:25 PM »
Hi John, how are you talking to Customs - is the parcel being held locally?
ANRB :  AOR AR8000 : Icom R-7000 : Icom IC-R9000 : JRC NRD-545 : OptoElectronics Digital Scout and OptoLinx Interface; Realistic Pro-2005 : UBC 800XLT - listed in alphabetical order, not cost, preference, performance or entertainment value!

richk107

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2012, 04:16:19 AM »
Cześć Sylvester,

My box stopped workign tonight as well.  No flights were being tracked and the hardware light on the lower left hand side of the app showed "checking". This happens to me on occation usually after installing an update from Microsoft.

Try this:

- Download the latest drives from AirNav.
- Go to Device Manager and locate the AirNav Radarbox
- Right click on the device and choose uninstall
- Once complete, unplug the USB cable for the Radarbox, count to 5 and then plug it back in.
- The device should be re-discovered.
- Either tell it to stop looking for the driver in Windows Update or wait for it to fail.
- Back in Device Manager locate the RadarBox, right click again and choose Update Software Driver
- Once complete, try the RadarBox software again.

Na razie


Rich

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: Box unworkable
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2012, 11:14:44 AM »
The custom officials are at the mail depot which is about 20 km from me.  The local post master now has all the documents that I can furnish, he will send it and the parcel to customs.  It is now completely out of my hands, I just have to wait for the outcome.
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.