AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: air nav radar box and the internet  (Read 5710 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

crocman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
air nav radar box and the internet
« on: March 14, 2012, 06:00:58 PM »
hi all,


i have just got a radarbox and when i use it with the internet i get lots of aircraft but if i don't use the internet i only get maybe five aircraft on my screen,
does this mean i have to have the internet on my radar box,
or do i need to change some setting's,
i am new to this so any help and i will be so gratful,

regards iron

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33784
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2012, 06:08:54 PM »
Hi Iron,

If you are not connected to the internet you will only see the flights you are picking up using your antenna.  If you are connected to the internet you will also pick up network traffic being supplied by users worldwide.

Alan

chewycanes

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2012, 06:15:34 PM »
Crocman
 
The aircraft from the internet are those detected by other users who share the data.

When you disconnect the internet what left is what your ANRB is detecting aircraft in your area.

If you are only getting a few aircraft you have to remember that it only detects aircraft by line of sight so you need to get your arial as high as possible to avoid building or hills etc.

Brian

CoastGuardJon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Mullion Cove, Kernow --- sw Cornwall UK.
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2012, 07:25:51 PM »
Hi Crocman, as Brian says you need to site your antenna as high and in the open as possible, if it's indoors on the window sill for example, you'll only get the a/c that the aerial can "see" and glass (especially double glazed and heat reflective type glass) will attenuate (reduce) the signal sometimes quite dramatically.   HTH
ANRB :  AOR AR8000 : Icom R-7000 : Icom IC-R9000 : JRC NRD-545 : OptoElectronics Digital Scout and OptoLinx Interface; Realistic Pro-2005 : UBC 800XLT - listed in alphabetical order, not cost, preference, performance or entertainment value!

crocman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2012, 03:39:14 PM »
thank you so much for all your help,

i will be putting a antener on the roof,

does anyone know where i can get a antener from,

regards iron

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9149
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2012, 04:13:54 PM »
Iron

AirNav have just started this thread: http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=6844.0

Rod
Rod

CoastGuardJon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Mullion Cove, Kernow --- sw Cornwall UK.
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2012, 04:26:33 PM »
Hi iron, others are available : try Googling :- Radar Extender, Radar Rama, and SSE's 1090SJ MkII.
ANRB :  AOR AR8000 : Icom R-7000 : Icom IC-R9000 : JRC NRD-545 : OptoElectronics Digital Scout and OptoLinx Interface; Realistic Pro-2005 : UBC 800XLT - listed in alphabetical order, not cost, preference, performance or entertainment value!

crocman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2012, 05:18:03 PM »
hello,

thank you so much for all your help,

would this be any good or is it to cheap,
cost about £50 on ebay

Radar-Rama-ADS-B-1090MHz-Virtual-Radar-Base-Antenna

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33784
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2012, 05:19:16 PM »
Its been mentioned on here so should be suitable.

Alan

chewycanes

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
Re: air nav radar box and the internet
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2012, 05:38:22 PM »
Crocman

I've got a Radar Rama 1090 and had it for about 18 months with no problems. I was was worried about being so slight high winds/frost  might cause problems but none seen.

Brian