anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Belkin Network USB Hub  (Read 13368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Belkin Network USB Hub
« on: January 27, 2012, 11:23:31 AM »
Has anyone had success using their Radarbox over a Belkin Network USB Hub?

I need to move my desk into another room, but don't really want to move all the radio "clutter" (my wife's description!!) as well.  Plan is to have Radarbox, ShipTrax, and printer/scanner located in a cupboard linked via. the network using the Belkin Network USB hub.

I'm going to buy one anyway, to use for the printer/scanner.  But wondered if it will also work for the Radarbox.

anorak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • support The Devon Air Ambulance Trust
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2012, 12:20:29 PM »
I tried using one and had bluescreens, so if you PM me your address I`ll post it up for you to try.
Best wishes,  Dave.
Dave. Exmoor, North Devon.

andrewarles

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2012, 12:40:48 PM »
Tarbat,

Is it the F5L009 USB Hub you going to buy?

If it is, and if you're intending to be on wireless, the Radarbox will not work from Vista onwards.  It works fine with XP.  There's an issue with the tcpip.sys.

The hub works great for Printers/Scanners/HDD etc.

Andrew
16 NM SSW of LFMV (Avignon)
27 NM NW of LFML (Marseille)
Arles, France.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2012, 02:08:01 PM »
Andrew, yes, it's the F5L009uk.  I won't be using wireless though, I'll be using my mains-based network (Devolo).  Do you have any info/links that describe what the tcpip.sys issue is?

Dave, thanks for the offer, but I've already ordered one from Amazon.  Did you try using the modified drivers/install from:
http://www.sevenforums.com/network-sharing/2821-belkin-network-usb-hub-f5l009-6.html#post1307126

As long as it works for my printer/scanner, I'll be happy.  If it can also cope with the Radarbox, then that's a bonus!

andrewarles

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2012, 12:34:41 AM »
Tarbat,

From what I understand, for security reasons from Vista onwards, Microsoft limited the number of wireless connections, (through the tcpip.sys).  There are a couple of tcpip.sys patches on the internet but none of them worked for me.  In fact, they totally messed up (putting it politely) two PC's (Vista and Windows 7), to the point where you couldn't even reboot.  To change the tcpip.sys file I ended up having to take the HDD out, and then connected it on to another PC to gain access to the file.

If you Google tcpip.sys there's a lot of info on the issue.

I think I also had some trouble with it when plugged in to the USB port as well.

Andrew
« Last Edit: January 28, 2012, 12:38:07 AM by andrewarles »
16 NM SSW of LFMV (Avignon)
27 NM NW of LFML (Marseille)
Arles, France.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2012, 12:33:14 PM »
An update.  The Belkin seems to work great, using the modified drivers/install - not the standard Belkin drivers.

It's been running okay now for a couple of hours, with the Radarbox, AIS Receiver, and Printer connected.  No dropped connection, everything works okay.  I'll leave it running for a few days and see if the connections remains solid.



Connection between the Belkin and my BT Home Hub is via. a pre-existing Devolo dLAN mains-based network.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2012, 12:37:32 PM by tarbat »

anorak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • support The Devon Air Ambulance Trust
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2012, 02:30:14 PM »
Glad it`s working for you, might find the time to have another go with mine.
Thanks,  Dave.
Dave. Exmoor, North Devon.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2012, 10:48:18 AM »
I spoke too soon.  Overnight, PC has re-booted itself, and within the last 10 minutes it has re-booted again.  SysLog shows:

The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck.  The bugcheck was: 0x0000000a (0x0000000000000c88, 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000001, 0xfffff800032a0985). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 013112-58235-01.

So, think I'll try the F7D4301 drivers as suggested elsewhere.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2012, 11:00:10 AM by tarbat »

anorak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • support The Devon Air Ambulance Trust
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2012, 02:52:24 PM »
Hi Tarbat, I downloaded from this link; Belkin F7D4301, and got a MALWARE warning. Did you have anything show up?
Thanks,  Dave.
Dave. Exmoor, North Devon.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2012, 02:58:55 PM »

anorak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • support The Devon Air Ambulance Trust
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2012, 11:08:19 AM »
I think Andrew is right, the Belkin works okay as a hub but putting it through a wifi seems to "upset" it.
Any one want a Belkin F5L009 Ver2 USB hub?
Best wishes,   Dave.
Dave. Exmoor, North Devon.

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2012, 11:24:27 AM »
Any one want a Belkin F5L009 Ver2 USB hub?

Hello Dave

I have PMed you.

Thank you

Andrew

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: SIlex Network USB Hub
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2012, 07:48:17 AM »
I've now switched to using a Silex SX-3000GB USB over TCP/IP hub, and this works flawlessly even over a wireless network.  The Silex SX Virtual Link software and drivers are Windows 7 (64-bit) capable, so no more BSOD's that I used to get with the Belkin software.

A great solution for anyone wanting to locate their Radarbox some distance from their PC.  I've got mine connected to a Netgear Ethernet to Wireless adaptor to hook into my wireless network, although Silex also do a wireless USB over TCP/IP hub (SX-2000WG+).




frogger

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2012, 11:45:19 AM »
Hi Tarbat!
Thank you for this post.
I have testet past year with the silex 2000and had after 3 or 4 days problems with the connection. The ANRB-Software does not see the radarbox after this time.

Do you have after these days registered any problems with this new silex-box?

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Belkin Network USB Hub
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2012, 06:02:54 PM »
Both Radarbox and ShipTrax have been connected via. the Silex since 14:52pm on 5th August, so just over 3 days.  I'll leave them up and running for a few more days.