AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?  (Read 3053 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?
« on: August 18, 2012, 05:46:25 PM »
Hey guys, I am not sure if this is even possible, but I always have my filter set for Distance....I only ever can see the ADS-B equipped aircraft.  But this filter also eliminates any Mods-S aircraft..

Also....my ADS-B icon (globe) does not show anymore in my aircraft list...something I turnrd off?


Is there anyway to show both with the distance filter?

Jason

« Last Edit: August 18, 2012, 05:50:56 PM by CYYZGUY »
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9155
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2012, 08:26:07 PM »
Hi Jason

I guess you are talking about the Quick Filter for range. Try the Advanced Filter - I think that will do what you want.

To get the ADS-B Globes, go to Tools...Preferences and check the Tracking box in the Visible Grid Columns area.

Hope that helps

Rod
Rod

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2012, 08:39:16 PM »
Ok, maybe I did not describe what I am trying to do correctly...

In "My Flights" where all the aircraft are displayed, I want to be able to see all the Mode-S as well as all the ADS-B aircraft within a 50 NM radius of my home location.  Nothing else...

I tried the advance filter and it does not do what i want it to.

thanks for your reply!


2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9155
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2012, 11:51:53 PM »
Well, it's night-time now, and I've hardly got any local flights to play with, so I'll have a play with this tomorrow and see if I can work out a way of doing what you want - some how I doubt it :-(

Did you at least get your ADS-B globes back?

Rod
Rod

CYYZGUY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
Re: Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2012, 12:35:09 AM »
Hi Rod, yes, I got the globes back..I have tried almost everything...but since Mode-S does not give distance, I doubt there is any other way.  I am in Mississauga, Ontario Canada, just a few nautical miles from Toronto's YYZ airport.  I even tried in the quick filter...Flying Over = Ontario, thinking it would at least show all flights, either ADS-B or Mode S, but no luck either.

See if you can dig up anything.

regards, and thank you
2 Nm North from Canada's Busiest Airport CYYZ

DPD 1090 Mhz Antenna with LMR-400 Cable
Antenna 35 Feet (11 Meters) standing tall
Dedicated Airnav Station with 16 Gigs ram
Dedicated Radarbox24 Station with 16 Gigs ram
40" LED Monitor
40" LED Monitor
BCD996XT, BCT15X, BCT15X, BCT15 and BCD436 receiver

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2012, 07:51:05 AM »
See http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=1370 for previous discussion on this problem.

bratters

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 935
Re: Possible to Filter by Mode-S and ADS-B by distance?
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2012, 09:07:09 AM »
See http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=1370 for previous discussion on this problem.

"discussion" is pushing it a bit!