anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Poll

Do you use the original supplied aerial as your base aerial?

Yes - It works fine for me
19 (25.7%)
Yes, but I'm planning to change
13 (17.6%)
No - I got another one and erected it myself
31 (41.9%)
No - I got another one and had it fitted for me
11 (14.9%)

Total Members Voted: 71

Author Topic: Aerials Poll  (Read 6422 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8845
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Aerials Poll
« on: March 17, 2011, 01:18:38 AM »
We haven't had a poll for ages - so here's one.

Rod
« Last Edit: March 17, 2011, 01:21:32 AM by RodBearden »
Rod

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 04:01:31 AM »
Hi Rod, I'm missing a 5th option in the poll: Yes and No, I'm using both aerials, but on different occasions. Mainly I'm using a more "powerful" one for my 24/7 home-station and once in a while the original one for "mobile" actions or on holidays.
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32395
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2011, 07:33:05 AM »
I would second Neroon with that.

Alan

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8845
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2011, 10:20:20 AM »
Ingo - I thought about that, but I assumed that anyone with an extra aerial would still carry on with the supplied one when travelling, like I do.

Rod
Rod

Aerotower

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2011, 10:19:03 PM »
Ingo - I thought about that, but I assumed that anyone with an extra aerial would still carry on with the supplied one when travelling, like I do.

Rod

I use :D

dxman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2011, 10:20:11 PM »
next option : No - I designed and built another one and erected it myself

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8845
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2011, 10:39:59 PM »
Dxman - that counts as a number 3!

Rod
Rod

eggplant

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2011, 11:32:14 PM »
As 1) states "it works fine for me". Choosing options 2,3 or 4 may suggest that the original supplied aerial didn't work fine ?

My originally supplied aerial worked fine, but I elected to fit an external aerial simply to increase reception.  As I erected it myself I am tempted to vote for 3), but am very nervous of doing so as I fear this could imply that I am suggesting the originally supplied aerial was something other than "fine". I'd hate to be banned or criticised by other forum users for what could be perceived as a negative comment towards AN, whereas this is not the case at all. Just to reiterate (before I get flamed by the usual people !) ,  the originally supplied aerial is fine. In fact it is more than fine, I can't even think of a suitable superlative adjective to describe it.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 12:16:31 AM by eggplant »
Everything about Airnav is fantastic. Airnav can do no wrong. Airnav is perfect. Airnav is divine.

Johnn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Y'ello
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2011, 11:44:55 PM »
I have no choice but to use a external aerial because I am in such a bad dip!
J.
Johnn -

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2011, 08:25:26 AM »
I also would vote 1 and 3 if I could.  Yes, the original supplied aerial works fine for me, and I use it when mobile.  When at home, I've got another one and erected it myself.

This really needs to be a poll that allows multiple selections.

andrewarles

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2353
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2011, 08:29:03 AM »
I also would vote 1 and 3 if I could.  Yes, the original supplied aerial works fine for me, and I use it when mobile.  When at home, I've got another one and erected it myself.

Same for me.
16 NM SSW of LFMV (Avignon)
27 NM NW of LFML (Marseille)
Arles, France.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32395
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2011, 09:02:18 AM »
And me

Alan

anorak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • support The Devon Air Ambulance Trust
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2011, 09:44:49 AM »
Hi Rod, 1 & 4 for me, I don`t do DIY and the Wife wouldn`t go up the ladder I was holding, just after I`d done the accident insurance.
Dave.
Dave. Exmoor, North Devon.

CoastGuardJon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Mullion Cove, Kernow --- sw Cornwall UK.
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2011, 11:55:52 AM »
Nice one Dave!
ANRB :  AOR AR8000 : Icom R-7000 : Icom IC-R9000 : JRC NRD-545 : OptoElectronics Digital Scout and OptoLinx Interface; Realistic Pro-2005 : UBC 800XLT - listed in alphabetical order, not cost, preference, performance or entertainment value!

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8845
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Aerials Poll
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2011, 11:57:06 AM »
OK - I've changed the question to make it clearer (I hope).

As I said in reply #3, I assume that folk with an extra aerial for their base (home) setup will still use the supplied aerial when mobile.

Rod
Rod