anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Question Around EGCC Area  (Read 10141 times)

Quinnysings

Question Around EGCC Area
« on: October 28, 2010, 11:34:01 AM »
I wonder if anyone around the Manchester (England) area can help me ?
Please pardon my ignorance if this is easily explained but I’m new to this technology.
I have recently bought an Airnav Pro (2009) Radarbox, and I live in between Manchester Airport and Woodford.
When I watch aircraft on my screen (any flight level) that are heading towards me heading from the east ‘Dayne to Manchester’ I am finding the second they reach MAN they disappear off the screen, this doesn’t include flights into Manchester just over flying stuff, although this does happen when Aircraft depart from Manchester and head West or North.
I am seeing some aircraft to the north of me that are heading in a southern direction and also Aircraft heading from Wallasy to Otringham.
Is there something set wrong on my box ? as this happens no matter where the aerial is placed, or set on Network Flights.
Thanks
Quinny

AirNav Support

• AirNav Systems
Re: Question Around EGCC Area
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2010, 12:25:25 PM »
Hi Quinny,

To clarify are you saying there is spot on your map around North/West Manchester which is like a blind spot?

Can you post any screenshots of your map? Also what is around your location (any hills, buildings)?
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

Southwest

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2010, 03:57:34 PM »
Almost certain your problem is terrain or building obstacle related.

Once you get more aquainted with the nuances of the RB you may want to invest in an external aerial.  Depending on how high the terrain or building is, this may make a difference, it may not.

Have fun!

Marpleman

• Proper aeroplanes!