anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: ftp upload rate  (Read 4037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

drskeptical

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
ftp upload rate
« on: September 25, 2008, 07:13:27 PM »
Hi
Sorry if this question has been asked previously, I can't find any info on it, mind you, I have not really looked.
Has any body tried the ftp upload feature?
I am just playing around with it, my question is can we alter the rate at which the images are up loaded. It seems at the moment it is once every minute. I would like to reduce this to about every 3 mins.

Have a shuffty here;  http://www.zen71988.zen.co.uk/Airnav

Andy

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4120
Re: ftp upload rate
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 07:15:56 PM »
A lot of customers have used the ftp feature :)

Unfortunately at the moment there isn't a way to change the rate. We also note in your case its not overwriting the file and your ending up with a lot of temporary files instead.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

drskeptical

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: ftp upload rate
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 07:26:35 PM »
Many thanks for the swift reply Airnav..

This is why I asked the question because at this rate I will soon be out of bandwidth. Never mind, I note tonight they seem to be holding them just off to my NW direction. I have seen this before but not for some time. May be it has something to do with the "Glitch" at Swanik.

Once again thanks for reply. I will switch off the ftp for now.

Andy

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: ftp upload rate
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2008, 07:54:03 PM »
Can you tell us what is the website where you ahve your screen shot being ftp'ed to?

GlynH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
Re: ftp upload rate
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2008, 10:25:03 PM »
I believe the upload rate is fixed but maybe AirNav can/will make that a configurable option in the future?

Clicking the link you gave just lists a bunch of files including many .tmp ones :-(

If you rename the .tmp to .gif you will see that they are actually the uploaded screenshots from RB...

This is usually a limitation of the remote sites FTP implementation and if hosted you would need to contact your ISP as it may be that they do not allow overwriting of files.

If hosted locally it could be that you are using Microsoft FTP Server within IIS which caused me the same problems.

Some other FTP information you might find useful in these threads here;

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=1385.0

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=1361.0

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=1414.0


Allocator has an website fed with ftp uploaded screenshots;

http://www.ruyton.demon.co.uk/html/airnav_radarbox.html


A blatant plug for my own also;

http://www.glyn.me/radarbox


Hope that helps.

Kind regards,
-=Glyn=-

« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 10:37:05 AM by GlynH »

GlynH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
Re: ftp upload rate
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2008, 10:31:19 PM »
A lot of customers have used the ftp feature :)

Well two that I know of and I'm one of them! ;^)

Regards,
-=Glyn=-

drskeptical

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: ftp upload rate
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2008, 06:35:31 AM »
Hi Glyn

Thanks for the info, there is a lot of steady reading there I will take a better look tonight after a day at the rock face :-)

It looks like I will have to dreate a web page and then upload the images in a similar way that you have.
Any way, plenty to play around with and absorb my self in.

Thanks again
Andy