anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Flight Display 7  (Read 23402 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2010, 04:56:38 PM »
I would assume (that word again!) that in the same way that new routes can be identified, so the routing for flights already in the database can be validated each time the same callsign is subsequently picked up on approach or climbout.

Perhaps, now that the system is fully operational, AirNav could explain a bit more about how it works to reassure our readers.

How exactly does asking a question like that, and expecting an answer, equate to sarcasm ?

Does that mean your questions are equally "sarcastic" too, then ?
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2010, 05:24:11 PM »
Please answer the questions below as our community would like to know about them.

1- Are you providing free flight data to the FD7 application? Y/N?
2- Are you able to provide such flight data to our community too?
3- If yes how can we access your flight data script (the same way FD7 does)?

Bob SEN

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2010, 05:37:42 PM »
We do need to do something about routes and I also think we must try to avoid politics,  fingerpointing and back-biting which is totally counter-productive.

Hear hear............................ I dont comment on it normally, but there does seem to be a fair bit of it going on re: this subject............

regards

Bob
1/2 a mile South of EGMC/SEN

MY PHOTO'S http://www.flickr.com/photos/96219572@N07/

.

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #18 on: September 20, 2010, 05:39:55 PM »
We understand it and we want to avoid at maximum these kind of discussions on our forum. Anyway there are situation that need to be clarified. That's why we keep waiting for DaveReid answers.


tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2010, 05:51:16 PM »
The use of automatic programmed robots to gather data from other sites is totally illegal.

Well, in the case of Dave Reid's FRL service, he publishes the interface that anyone can use to get route information from his database.  It's documented at http://www.flightroutelookup.com/FlightRoute/FlightLookup.wso?op=FlightLookup

All you need is an allocated UserName from Dave.  I note that FD7 uses "tester" as it's UserName.

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2010, 05:54:44 PM »
Ok but we need Dave's permission to do so. Dave do you give AirNav Systems permission to retrieve flight route data from your server and populate our central database for the benefit of the RadarBox community?

flightinair

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2010, 09:29:57 PM »
Ok but we need Dave's permission to do so. Dave do you give AirNav Systems permission to retrieve flight route data from your server and populate our central database for the benefit of the RadarBox community?

Dave is thinking boys thinking.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #22 on: September 21, 2010, 07:01:24 AM »
Has anyone worked out how to get auto-populate working in FD7 when using it with Radarbox.  I only ever get the first aircraft auto-populating, and then nothing.

I wonder if it's anything to do with port 30003 always outputting records with Field 6: FlightID always set to zero.  Airnav, any chance of changing port 30003 output to provide an incremented Field 6 so that SBS-1 addons work properly?

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #23 on: September 22, 2010, 10:07:33 AM »
Thought I would see how reliable FD7 was in retrieving routes.  Tested over a period of one hour, I clicked on every aircraft to trigger a route lookup in FD7.

Of the 41 aircraft that had a Flight ID, only 23 were successful in retrieving route details.  That's a success rate of only 56%.  I think this illustrates the problem we have with route lookups.  Even using FIVE different route lookup sites, even FD7 can only achieve a 56% success rate.

Flight ID   From   To
AAAAAAAA      
  ACA850   CYYC   EGLL
  ACA898   CYEG   EGLL
  AF3419      
  BEE6CM      
  BMA673   EGPD   EGLL
 BMR683V      
  CCPW0O      
  COA123   EKCH   KEWR
   CWL91      
  DAL233   EHAM   KSEA
  DAL259   EHAM   KMSP
  DAL261   EHAM   KPDX
    DAL8   KIAH   OMDB
  DLH456   EDDF   KLAX
  EZE32F   EGNT   EGPD
  EZY153   EGGW   EGPE
 EZY94EG      
   GFRAL      
   GFRAP      
   GFRAR      
  ICE502   BIKF   EHAM
  ICE520   BIKF   EDDF
  KLM669   EHAM   KDFW
 LNX47CP      
 LOG57JA      
 LOG83HB      
 LOG91DT      
   OYTWO      
   QTR52   KIAD   OTBD
  RAE556   LFPG   EGPD
 RYR84CL   EGPK   ESGP
 SAS2548   EGCC   ESSA
  SAS540   EGCC   EKCH
  SHT17Q   EGPH   EGKK
  SHT18Y      
  SHT19U      
   SHT9Z   EGPH   EGLL
  TCX69K   EGPF   CYYC
  TSO594      
  VIR20X   KSFO   EGLL
« Last Edit: September 22, 2010, 10:15:44 AM by tarbat »

EK01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4847
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2010, 10:52:16 AM »
Tarbat,

I do notice that some of the routes showing relate to alphanumeric flight numbers. Now there's an advance on the current situation straight away !

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #25 on: September 23, 2010, 03:20:43 PM »
Did some further testing today, and out of 223 flights, FD7 returned different route details compared with Radarbox in 23 instances:
FlightId  FD7_Route   ANRB_Route
BCY174Z   EGPN-EGLC   
 BDI19C   EGPH-EGQK   
 BEE3LT   EGPE-EGBB   
BEE51PM   EGBB-EGPD   
BER7430   EDDL-KLAX   EDDM-MUVR
BMR134V   EGPD-EGSH   
 DLH451   KLAX-EDDF   KLAX-EDDM
EZE1041   EGPD-EDDH   
 EZE36X   EGGD-EGPD   
 EZE54G   EGPD-EGPO   
 EZE65L   EGPD-EGNV   
 FPG788   LIRN-LSGG   
 NJE6BR   LFRG-EHAM   
 RYN557   KRFD-EDDP   KSVN-CYQX
 RYR1LA   EGPH-GCTS   
 RYR7HJ   EIDW-LEMD   
 SHT17D   EGPH-EGKK   
  SHT9J   EGPH-EGLL   
 UAL901   EDDF-KSAN   EDDF-KSFO
 UAL907   EDDM-KSFO   EDDM-KORD-KSFO
 UAL931   EGLL-KLAX   KSFO-KLAX
 UAL939   EGLL-KSAN   EGLL-KDEN-KSAN
 UAL941   EDDF-KDEN   EDDF-KORD

Which is correct I have no way of knowing!!
« Last Edit: September 23, 2010, 03:27:51 PM by tarbat »

LSZS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #26 on: September 23, 2010, 04:32:22 PM »
BER 7430 and DLH 451 are the FD7 Route correct
Engadin Airport auf 1707m / 5600ft. Europas höchstgelegener Flughafen
http://www.flickr.com/photos/stefanobazzi/

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #27 on: September 29, 2010, 10:09:14 AM »
If anyone else is using FD7 with Radarbox, I've now discovered a way of auto-populating the routes for EVERY aircraft.  Use the "Start Tour" button in Radarbox.  This cycles round each aircraft in the list, and sends a SEL message on port 30003, triggering FD7 to do a route lookup.

Then at the end of the day, export the routes from FD7, using this query:
SELECT DISTINCT
  Routes.FlightID AS FN,
  Routes.DepICAO AS NO,
  Routes.ArrICAO AS ND,
  "" AS NV,
  substr(Routes.Posted,1,4)||substr(Routes.Posted,6,2)||substr(Routes.Posted,9,2)||"000000" AS CH
FROM
 Routes
WHERE
  (Routes.DepICAO IS NOT NULL) AND
  (Routes.ArrICAO IS NOT NULL) AND
  (Routes.DepICAO <> "") AND
  (Routes.ArrICAO <> "")

ANd import into the Radarbox routes table.

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2010, 10:33:56 AM »
Chris

Are you using FD7 with 32bit windows or 64bit, still got problems here.

Andy

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Flight Display 7
« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2010, 10:39:08 AM »
Are you using FD7 with 32bit windows or 64bit, still got problems here.

32-bit on Vista.  Note there are separate 32-bit and 64-bit versions.  What problems are you having?