AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: RadarBox appears to be faulty  (Read 4152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
RadarBox appears to be faulty
« on: September 01, 2012, 09:26:39 AM »
Anyone have any suggestions?

I may have set something wrong, but I can't see where and how. 

I run ANRB 4.03 in 2D on a 64 bit machine with 64bit Windows 7 Pro.

Only the blue light is flashing every second or so, no white light, no aircraft on the monitor.

Mylog shows two Mode B flights since the problem started, so it would appear that might be receiving mode B sometimes.

No filters are set. 

John


I have tried three different antennae, all of which I know do work as I have used them before.

I have tried all three versions of the software with the same result every time.

I even tried another computer running Windows XP 32 bit, that I used before.
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32387
Re: RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 09:54:15 AM »
Box would appear to be defective. Suggest you contact Support direct

Alan

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2012, 10:22:38 AM »
Alan,

Yes, I think so too.

I have sent an email to support.

With aerial connected or not the lights flash the same.

Strange, it worked until midnight last night, then went on strike.

John
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32387
Re: RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2012, 10:31:19 AM »
Were there any thunderstorms around?

Alan

lambertw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2012, 12:11:38 PM »
I have had similar problems were nothing was being received and thought the box was faulty, on both occasions all I did was to unplug the box from it's power supply (usb) and reconnect power after about 15 secs it then reset its self and ran ok. 

Kenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2012, 02:04:57 PM »
My RB some time does that when I plug it directly to notebook USB.  If I plug the RB to powered USB hub, it runs fine and never stop receiving signal.
ANRB 3km north of VTBD

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2012, 03:29:21 PM »
Hi guys,

Sorry for taking so long to respond, been away from my QTH.

Thanks for all the suggestions, but I've tried all that.

No, there were no thunder storms in our area, we did have an awful lot of rain though.

It appears as if the receiver has lost front end sensitivity, like a ban antenna would give you, but as I said, I have tried three different antennae.

John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32387
Re: RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2012, 03:31:01 PM »
Looks like its duff and needing to go back to W&Stanton for repair

Alan

FACTflights

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • Amateur Radio is my hobby.
Re: RadarBox appears to be faulty
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2012, 04:56:43 PM »
Yes Alan, I agree with you and apparently so does support.  They have told me to return it, then they will give me a new one.  I'll mail it tomorrow.

John
John
ZS1AGH
We live under a rock:  Table Mountain

Icom IC 706 Mk II G; Icom IC 726; Icom IC T22E; Yaesu 290R; Alinco DJ-V5 
No HF antennae at the moment.