anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Are we having network problems/  (Read 16383 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Southwest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2010, 08:01:53 AM »
Are you in a habit of shooting yourselves in the foot?

See this topic http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=4975.0 and you will see that you acknowledged the network was down on 26th May and you quote in the statistics above:

2010-May-26 Wed    0    0 hrs, 0 mins, 0 secs    100.000%

Would you like to answer this one?

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #16 on: June 17, 2010, 08:19:11 AM »
Hi Southwest

Uptime Stats are maintained by  an independent company, not us.

"Are you in a habit of shooting yourselves in the foot?"

We will not start an argument here. Check all your posts for the last weeks, 90% with negative comments. Don't you have something positive and interesting to bring to this forum?

"The USB lead is a known problem."
"These two publications are riddled with errors and inconsistences and at about £12 a pop, they are just not worth it."
"Am I wrong in suggesting that the map in question only shows the locations of RB owners "
"Then the live network feed goes from green to yellow and then yellow on ordinary network."
"Sorry, also meant to say NO network at all now!"
"If this continues, how do Air Nav plan to recompense everyone who is paying for real time network?"
"Can someone p0lease xplain whu one minute I have 1068 flights in my network flights, a second later that goes down to 257!!"
"But this 'wait for a big announcement' culture is hacking everyone off."
"So the announcement for this week is that we will have to wait for a few months for another one?"
"Please don't tell me that this was the 'major' announcement scheduled for this week."

Southwest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #17 on: June 17, 2010, 08:49:20 AM »
You are quite quick to quote statistics to make things look good but sadly for you, someone has caught you out.  My last few comments may have been negative, that's because I am unhappy with the second rate service you are providing whilst charging a premium rate for it.

Typical bully boy tactics with your answer, attack someone who has proved your stats are dodgy.  May I suggest you have a quiet word with the third party concerned as they are making you look really bad.

Fully expecting a ban over this post and I'm prepared to 'take one for the team' over this. 

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #18 on: June 17, 2010, 08:59:19 AM »


Fully expecting a ban over this post

Hello

We can only hope. I know it is annoying when the network goes off but there is no need for what you did. If you are so  unhappy with your "paupers" service cancel your subscription and give us all peace.

Andrew

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33705
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #19 on: June 17, 2010, 09:07:58 AM »
At least you can still moan on at that other site

Southwest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #20 on: June 17, 2010, 09:08:47 AM »
What, do you mean the site whose name cannot be mentioned?

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33705
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #21 on: June 17, 2010, 09:11:40 AM »
Yes the one with all the malcontents, that team.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2010, 09:17:20 AM by Runway 31 »

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #22 on: June 17, 2010, 09:20:34 AM »
hello

Airnav ban him now please. He is now getting on to me by personal message (see below).

Just for your information I am not a brown noser. Airnav is not perfect (no company is) but just don't see the network off the amount or length of times you claim and even if it was you would only get around 30p compensation if the RT network was off for a whole day .

Andrew


Quote
Are you prepared to accept a shoddy service for a premium priced product?  Well, I'm not and I'm prepared to stand up to companies who publish blatant untruths about their products in the hope that we will all lay down and accept it.

It may be your way but it's not mine.  It's a Forum for heavans sake, do Air Nav only want brown nosers posting on it.  You have your opinion and I have mine, that's democracy.

Have a nice day.

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #23 on: June 17, 2010, 09:36:06 AM »
and another (email not pm)

Harry Sundance ([email protected])

"just seen your post on AN forum network.  Do you work for airnav, seems you do as your always licking their bums.
 
You should feel ashamed, trying to get someone banned for speaking up.  Creep."

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #24 on: June 17, 2010, 11:44:30 AM »
orkney, just try to ignore them.   I've been accused of many things by the radarspotters mob over the last year or so, including working for Airnav, with various abusive emails and personal messages.  Only MikeC (Anmer) seems civil to me any more, many others over there just like to accuse anyone who actually likes their Radarbox as a "brown noser".  Nice :(
« Last Edit: June 17, 2010, 11:48:18 AM by tarbat »

Southwest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #25 on: June 17, 2010, 12:01:11 PM »
Tarbat et al.  I'll come off the fence and admit that I'm reasonably happy with my radar box, there I've said it.  It's the support part of it that I have issues with.

Orkney.  Nowhere in my PM did I accuse you personally of being a brown noser.  I did try and send you a PM to explain but it would appear you have blocked me, that's your right.

Now, let's get on with enjoying the hobby.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #26 on: June 18, 2010, 07:36:17 AM »
I noticed during the latest network outage that 3D continued to work fully.  Good to see that Airnav have a backup server in place for 3D functionality.  Would it be worth putting a similar backup in place for other network functions?

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #27 on: June 18, 2010, 07:47:48 AM »
We've been doing maintenance on the server and all should be Ok now.

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #28 on: June 18, 2010, 08:42:32 AM »
We've been doing maintenance on the server and all should be Ok now.

That's Tarbat's point, with which I agree. 

How can you justify only having one server to service the network with no backup  ?
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Are we having network problems/
« Reply #29 on: June 18, 2010, 03:32:16 PM »
How can you justify only having one server to service the network with no backup  ?

I would imagine cost is the biggest reason.