anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Alerts not functioning...  (Read 4059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

btclarke

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Alerts not functioning...
« on: June 08, 2010, 08:30:00 PM »
Hello all again,

Much to my annoyance, alerts on my radarbox 2010 are not working. I have set up alerts for network and local flights for the mode S address of "3C65A1". This is the new LH A380. I wanted to know when it was airborne from EBBR today returning to FRA, only to randomly look on my radarbox and see it was 'TIMEOUT' after landing already.

Why are they not working?

Thanks
Bryan

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9129
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2010, 09:45:41 PM »
Hi Bryan

Mode-S alerts seem to work for most of us..

Are you sure you've got the tick-box above the Mode-S Alerts list ticked, and do other types of alerts work for you?

Rod
Rod

btclarke

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 04:35:09 AM »
Hi Rod,

Yes, everything checked as it should.

And, no - no alerts work.

Thanks
Bryan

Southwest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 07:14:27 AM »
My alerts are working fine.  Try an alert on the registration and see if that works.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9129
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2010, 09:56:42 AM »
To try it out, I set an alert for 3C65A1 and I've just had one, so it definitely works.

Do make sure you have at least one Type of Alert set up - here's my Alerts page if it helps.

Rod
Rod

btclarke

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2010, 12:04:04 PM »
Hi Rod,

Thanks - thats what mine looks like. I have both play a sound and show a notification message. I have tried also adding a mail, but my blackberry doesn't handle emails sent to its own e-mail address properly.

I don't get any entry in the bottom alert log.

Thanks
Bryan

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2010, 03:01:55 PM »
Maybe you could post a screenshot of your alerts setup, so we can check that it looks okay.  Things to beware of - make sure there is no space or CR after each entry.

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2010, 03:48:01 PM »
If you're comfortable dabbling with the registry, I would suggest deleting the memo*text strings in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AirNav Systems\ANRB\1\General, which hold the alert parameters.  RadarBox will recreate empty strings when you launch it, and you can try repopulating the alert parameters from scratch.

Quicker than a reinstall, which would be my other recommendation.
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2010, 04:10:52 PM »
Hello Tarbat

Good to see you back on :)

Andrew

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Alerts not functioning...
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2010, 04:16:51 PM »
Thanks Andrew.  It's good to be back home and online.