anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna  (Read 14232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mcwito

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« on: November 07, 2010, 11:35:48 AM »
Hello all I'm new here.

I have a Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna, it's an indoor antenna I using for my Yaesu VR120-D scanner. It has a BNC male connector and I want to know if this antenna is better than default antenna provided by airnav and if it's compatible whit the radarbox (my antenna has a BNC male output connector).

Here descriptions:

# 4 Vertical elements covering; 50 - 107 MHz, 108 - 136MHz, 137 - 175 MHz, 176 - 525 MHz
# Total coverage 25 - 1300MHz
# 4 Horizontal Rubber Duck Elements
# 8 300mm Groundplane Elements
# Heavy Duty Magmount Base
# 4m RG58 50 Ohm coax cable with fitted BNC
# Overall Height 930mm or 3'.

Thank you all.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2010, 11:37:20 AM by mcwito »

flightinair

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2010, 12:10:58 PM »
Hello all I'm new here.

I have a Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna, it's an indoor antenna I using for my Yaesu VR120-D scanner. It has a BNC male connector and I want to know if this antenna is better than default antenna provided by airnav and if it's compatible whit the radarbox (my antenna has a BNC male output connector).

Here descriptions:

# 4 Vertical elements covering; 50 - 107 MHz, 108 - 136MHz, 137 - 175 MHz, 176 - 525 MHz
# Total coverage 25 - 1300MHz
# 4 Horizontal Rubber Duck Elements
# 8 300mm Groundplane Elements
# Heavy Duty Magmount Base
# 4m RG58 50 Ohm coax cable with fitted BNC
# Overall Height 930mm or 3'.

Thank you all.
Hi.
It will be no good, the wee mag mount you will find a better job.
all the best.

mcwito

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2010, 12:15:02 PM »
Hello all I'm new here.

I have a Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna, it's an indoor antenna I using for my Yaesu VR120-D scanner. It has a BNC male connector and I want to know if this antenna is better than default antenna provided by airnav and if it's compatible whit the radarbox (my antenna has a BNC male output connector).

Here descriptions:

# 4 Vertical elements covering; 50 - 107 MHz, 108 - 136MHz, 137 - 175 MHz, 176 - 525 MHz
# Total coverage 25 - 1300MHz
# 4 Horizontal Rubber Duck Elements
# 8 300mm Groundplane Elements
# Heavy Duty Magmount Base
# 4m RG58 50 Ohm coax cable with fitted BNC
# Overall Height 930mm or 3'.

Thank you all.
Hi.
It will be no good, the wee mag mount you will find a better job.
all the best.

I dont understand you, my english is not good at all, can you explain me?

Thank you.

ACW367

  • Guest
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2010, 02:44:13 PM »
The small antenna that comes with the radarbox will be better.  It is dedicated to the 1090MHz frequency used by Mode-S.  Your Skyscan wideband antenna will actually have poorer results.

BadWolf

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2010, 03:27:11 PM »
Hi, there are two issues with that equipment that I see, the antenna is designed to be used for a very wide range of frequencies 25-1300 Mhz so it is best generalized as an antenna that is for a wide range does not have very good sensitivity at any particular frequency. You would be better served by an antenna that has good sensitivity at about 1 Ghz where the Mode S equipment operates.
Also RG-58 cable is meant fir UHF and VHF ranges so has poor performance due to higher attanuation loss at the above mentioned 1 Ghz range.

bratters

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 935
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2010, 04:28:30 PM »
mcwito

Use the default aerial.  It works very well.  Put it near a window as high as possible. Try different positions for best results.

The Skyscan does not work well with Radarbox.

mcwito

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2010, 06:37:54 PM »
Ok thank you guys I appreciate your help.

Whit default antenna, how much radio can I get? 200 kilometers? 300?

Best regards.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2010, 06:40:35 PM »
Whit default antenna, how much radio can I get? 200 kilometers? 300?

See the FAQ at http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=7.0

mcwito

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Skyscan V1300 Desktop Scanner Antenna
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2010, 05:03:37 PM »
How can I know if I can get a good signal?? maybe tunning 1090mhz on my Yaesu VR-120D and see what happen?