AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Plane plotter and Airnav  (Read 26277 times)

Runway 31

Plane plotter and Airnav
« on: April 16, 2010, 07:03:43 PM »
I noted the following on another forum.  Can you advise me if Airnav is compatible with PP.

Hi
> I'm fairly new to all this and this group so am looking for some info.
> I recently purchased a Airnav Radar Box and am using the supplied
> software and antenna. What I wanted to know is can I track Military
> aircraft & light aircraft or is it just commericial aircraft? Also is
> this the best software to use?
>
> Many thanks in advance
>
> Elliot

Elliot,

Plane Plotter will allow tracking of mil aircraft only if there are enough people running the Kinetic SBS (/not/ the less capable Air Nav box), so if you are considering getting something the Kinetic is the one to go for.
See if you can sell the AirNav box and get a second-hand Kinetic.  <G>

But your input to Plane Plotter (one-off cost 25 Euro) would be most welcome.  Mil (Mlat) plotting costs 12 Euro a year (but it's free if you are uploading from a Kinetic SBS box).  Plane Plotter is a super add-on for your box.

Cheers,
David
--
Sa

Tallyho

Re: Plane plotter and Airnav
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2010, 07:26:48 PM »
Hi David
PP works fine with ANRB, I run the two together on my machine and have done for sometime.
I use my ANRB to feed both the RB network and the PP network.
I purchased the one off payment to subscribe to the PP network and do not use the RB network for three reasons 1) cost and 2) access to download and store network data 3) ability to MLAT non positional traffic (e.g. GA MODE-S aircraft).

I therefore just use my RB to look at my local data and I use PP for the rest of the world (although I am mainly interested in UK airspace traffic which has fantastic PP coverage).