anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: hundreds of duplicates  (Read 3204 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
hundreds of duplicates
« on: April 05, 2010, 04:13:39 PM »
hello

We have had duplicate aircraft sometimes like some other people have reported. It is normally explained by when two aircraft of similar mode S address get confused by the software. However this explanation cant explain this many duplicates (as can be seen in the attached screenshot). Before this happened we had 6 aircraft and then it was like this for 5 minutes , then  all the duplicates went away and we were left with 7 aircraft.


It isn't a serious problem but I would just find it interesting to get an explanation.

Thanks
Andrew

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4127
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 04:37:23 PM »
Very strange, never seen something like that. Does that happen often or was that a one off?
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 04:41:35 PM »
Hello

This has happened a couple of times before but never to this extent-usually 9 or 10. It is a brand new computer so don't imagine it is a computer fault as it happened on  the old one the last times.  It normally lasted so short it didn't give us time for a screenshot but it may have happened when we have not been watching.  Another strange things is it does not show up on the log-it just shows this as one flight.  Thanks for your input.

Andrew

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4127
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 04:51:27 PM »
Wonder if its a display issue with your graphics card. We will keep an eye on this and see whether we can replicate this. If you can send us details of your computer specifications we will do our best to replicate it.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2010, 05:00:08 PM »
Hello

Here are our specs. for this computer.  Our older one was lower spec.

Graphics: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
OS Name   Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Basic
Version   6.0.6001 Service Pack 1 Build 6001
Other OS Description    Not Available
OS Manufacturer   Microsoft Corporation

System Manufacturer   Hewlett-Packard
System Model   Compaq Presario CQ70 Notebook PC
System Type   X86-based PC
Processor   Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T1600  @ 1.66GHz, 1662 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date   Hewlett-Packard F.38, 16/04/2009
SMBIOS Version   2.4
Windows Directory   C:\Windows
System Directory   C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device   \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale   United Kingdom
Hardware Abstraction Layer   Version = "6.0.6001.18000"

Time Zone   GMT Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)   2.00 GB

Andrew




tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2010, 08:16:48 AM »
Were the ModeS hex codes all the same, or different?

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2010, 08:29:26 AM »
Were the ModeS hex codes all the same, or different?

hello

The mode S hex codes (and all the other details) were identical.

Andrew

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4127
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2010, 08:40:51 AM »
As the software uses the hex code as a unique key in the list we would suggest that this is a display issue which ended up showing the same row again and again as software wise there is no way you can enter two rows with the same hex code in that list.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2010, 09:22:35 AM »
As the software uses the hex code as a unique key in the list we would suggest that this is a display issue which ended up showing the same row again and again as software wise there is no way you can enter two rows with the same hex code in that list.

hello

The software realised there was that many rows since it displayed 326 in the my flight tab.

Anyway Airnav I am not too worried about getting it fixed since it only happens rarely so doesn't spoil our enjoyment of the radarbox. When I wrote about it it was mainly just because I was interested in what would cause it and to see if anyone else had had this happen  and not because it was a problem

thanks anyway for your help

Andrew

phil zech

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
Re: hundreds of duplicates
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2010, 01:17:51 PM »
Hi Andrew,

I have the same problem as you.

Mostly it is in Network flights,   China Southern one time , Singapore Airlines another.

Again it only lasts for a minute or so and seems to right itself when Network server is refreshed.

It doesnt happen every day , probably once or twice a week.

However yesterday I had an Irish Air Force  Learjet , which took My Flights to 325 !! when normally is only 50-60 !.

As you say it doesnt spoil the enjoyment of the ANRB, it just looks really weird , especially when you think you have over 200 Irish Air Force aircraft in the area!!!

By the way I have a Dell Inspiron 15 laptop  purchased Xmas 09.


Cheers

Phil