AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: New version is much slower to load  (Read 6402 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ukpbz

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
New version is much slower to load
« on: September 01, 2008, 05:06:30 PM »
I have noticed that since upgrading it takes 3 to 5 minutes sometimes for the application to load to the login screen. Has anyone else noticed this?

Thanks

Paul

Lou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2008, 05:36:03 PM »
If you are using AVC anti virus turn off resident shield it will then then start in about 15 secs,this fixed it for me.I have gone back to version 1.5 as I have had other problems. Regards Lou

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2008, 05:44:12 PM »
Lou: have you contacted our support regarding which problems you had? You are the only user in more than 1500 now going back to previous version.

ukpbz

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2008, 06:21:50 PM »
Thanks Lou,

I use AVG ( I think thats what you mean)

I can't really turn my anti virus off. I may go back to 1.5 until this is fixed :-(

Wer3Y

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2008, 06:22:17 PM »
same problem here... exactly 3 minutes to load!

i only have AVG anti virus..

turned it off .. restarted the app same problem!
-= W e r 3 Y =-

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4125
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2008, 06:33:33 PM »
You don't turn it off:
Go to Tools -> Advanced Settings -> Execptions (under Resident Sheild) -> Add path -> Enter your path to AirNav Systems which is usually:

C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\

(Location may be differen if using Vista)

Then click apply and run RadarBox 2009 and tell us whether it works.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

ukpbz

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2008, 06:57:35 PM »
So turning it off has to be as good if not better.

I have totally disabled it from boot, plus many other things (Windows Home server connector etc).

The best time I am getting is 5 minutes at the moment. It whizzes through the first 4 items but sits on starting application for 4 plus minutes.

I am using Vista Home Premium, a core 2 duo 2GHz laptop with 3GB of RAM

Any ideas?

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2008, 07:30:34 PM »
So turning it off has to be as good if not better.

I have totally disabled it from boot, plus many other things (Windows Home server connector etc).

The best time I am getting is 5 minutes at the moment. It whizzes through the first 4 items but sits on starting application for 4 plus minutes.

I am using Vista Home Premium, a core 2 duo 2GHz laptop with 3GB of RAM

Any ideas?

AVG is VERY VERY difficult to get rid of!

What is happening is that AVG is checking every single file as a program is run.  With RadarBox, that means checking maybe 10,000 photo files, all the logo files and the flag files, not to mention the 2 main database files.

Believe me, it is either AVG or another anti virus program checking all these files that is causing the problem.  Reinstall and activate AVG Free, then set up the Exclusion directory as described above - just make sure you set the correct directory though, otherwise you will notice no difference.

Lou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2008, 09:35:32 PM »
Don`t turn off AVG, you can`t fully turn it off anyway without uninstall just go into tools and untick resident shield, Yes I have contacted support over one of the problems I had with new version they got back to me very quickly and the reply helped with the problem but did not entirely cure it for me. The comments above re AVG assume using the latest version ( 8 ) fully updated. Regards Lou

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2008, 10:22:38 PM »
We are in direct contact with AVG support team and they say all these errors will be corrected on a patch to be released on their site soon. It is clearly an AVG anti-virus problem and we will do our best to press them to correct it ASAP.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2008, 11:02:51 PM »
We are in direct contact with AVG support team and they say all these errors will be corrected on a patch to be released on their site soon. It is clearly an AVG anti-virus problem and we will do our best to press them to correct it ASAP.

You are very lucky that you've managed to actually contact them!  AVG Free is a cracking program, but the support is a bit inconsistent in my experience!

ukpbz

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: New version is much slower to load
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2008, 08:38:15 AM »
I did as you suggested and back to 15 seconds load. Thanks Muchly

Paul