AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: info missing  (Read 3992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

johnboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
info missing
« on: February 08, 2010, 06:12:47 PM »
At present im watching a BA 747 fromEGLL to BC(CYVR) btm left of screen shows
N53 22.0  W001 36.1 OFT    what info is this as i cant find any reference in  the manual.
At the side of that info used to be the country or state a selected flight was passing over plus the local time,this info has now gone since downloading the latest version.

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: info missing
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 06:21:08 PM »
At present im watching a BA 747 fromEGLL to BC(CYVR) btm left of screen shows
N53 22.0  W001 36.1 OFT    what info is this as i cant find any reference in  the manual.
At the side of that info used to be the country or state a selected flight was passing over plus the local time,this info has now gone since downloading the latest version.

N53 22.0  W001 36.1 represents what is termed latitude and longitude, which defines a specific location on (or above or below) the earth's surface.

Those particular values indicate a position above Redmires Reservoir, a few miles west of Sheffield in the UK.  Hopefully 0ft isn't the correct altitude or those passengers will have wet feet !
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: info missing
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 06:23:53 PM »
Iits the geographical co-ordinates that your mouse cursor is at. If you move the mouse you will see this change.
You will also find that the country info is at the top of the screen now just below 'show all'

Hope this helps!

Dave
9 nm south of LGW

johnboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: info missing
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2010, 06:47:41 PM »
Its always shown the country its flying over but the info at the btm. left also gave a state if looking at  America plus the local time. The altitude info never shows   other than OFT. thanks for the other info though,
Regards JOHN.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8818
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: info missing
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2010, 08:06:23 PM »
Hi John

The altitude is the terrain height in 1000ft steps (it's pretty crude but gives a rough idea).

If you move the map to Wales, Scotland, or the Alps you'll se it change from 0! AirNav got rid of local time because it's too complicated to work out!

Rod
Rod

johnboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: info missing
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2010, 09:27:51 PM »
I found that local time handy saved me working it out, also when tracking flights over America it was always helpfull to see which state it was flying over without having to keep centrering the map. That altitude thing on mine only ever shows 0 or 100. but i get your drift.

John

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: info missing
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2010, 09:55:08 PM »
AirNav got rid of local time because it's too complicated to work out!

Airlines have been managing to do it for the last 90 years, with only the occasional hiccup  :-)
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: info missing
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2010, 11:22:38 PM »
We decided not to use local times as they could sometimes be inaccurate and we wanted all application information to be 100% accurate.

johnboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: info missing
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2010, 08:38:39 PM »
what about the country and state info? The map centred on info isnt always accurate, eg.  English Channel,North Sea show as Atlantic  Ocean.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: info missing
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2010, 10:22:48 AM »
what about the country and state info? The map centred on info isnt always accurate, eg.  English Channel,North Sea show as Atlantic  Ocean.

It might be the English Channel to you - but not to the rest of the world? - lol

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English_Channel


DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: info missing
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2010, 11:48:43 AM »
Well yes, clearly the RadarBox Dutch-language and French-language versions should name it appropriately :-)

But we would all agree it's still not the Atlantic !
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

johnboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: info missing
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2010, 06:46:19 PM »
Im with you on that Dave, but interesting to see its classed as part of the Atlantic,what next?

orkney

  • Database Updater Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1550
    • orkney radarbox screenshot
Re: info missing
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2010, 07:52:32 PM »
what about the country and state info? The map centred on info isnt always accurate, eg.  English Channel,North Sea show as Atlantic  Ocean.

also some land is classed as the Atlantic ocean. For example most of the Scottish islands are classed as the Atlantic so I assume there must be other  land in other parts of the world classed as ocean or sea.