AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready  (Read 16978 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9148
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #75 on: November 19, 2009, 11:31:17 PM »
Sorry - yes - I jumped the gun there!

Rod
Rod

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #76 on: November 20, 2009, 12:31:45 AM »
Corrected (trying one more time): With my new timeout settings I just lost a flight for 5 minutes as it passed from local to network.

New exe at:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/download/anrb/31/anrb.exe

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9148
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #77 on: November 20, 2009, 12:41:54 AM »
Downloaded - but it's late now - not much traffic around - I'll see if I can check it out now, but results may have to wait til tomorrow...

Rod
Rod

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #78 on: November 20, 2009, 12:44:20 AM »
Tks Rod. Will keep waiting for your feedback tomorrow.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9148
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #79 on: November 20, 2009, 12:51:07 AM »
Just had one - good timing - it reappeared on the network after around 25 seconds, so looking like a big improvement - is there an emoticon for crossed fingers?

Rod
Rod

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #80 on: November 20, 2009, 12:53:32 AM »
:-) It wascorrected on the previous exe but we made an error on the code. This last one should work (at least we tested it here)...it is unbelievable the complexity of the software...most users tend to think that it is just a software with a grid and a map but after 2.5 years we are still improving it. And it wil continue like that.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9148
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #81 on: November 20, 2009, 01:35:22 AM »
My only programming experience was trying to write Excel macros, and that's bad enough! But I've worked with developers and programmers for a LONG time and I know the problems.

Anyway, just had another flight that reappeared on the network 6 seconds after hardware timeout, so I reckon this version has got it right! Well done, chaps!

Bed now...

Rod
Rod

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #82 on: November 20, 2009, 01:38:43 AM »
Tks Rod. Now to all the other beta testers: pls give your best today and try to report any problems. We are here ready to correct them.

GlynH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #83 on: November 20, 2009, 02:48:59 AM »
Well in my short period of testing the new .exe it looks OK here.

Those Aviation & General Signs issues seem to have been cured.

My solitary menu issue with the busy pointer seems to have got worse leading me to think it is related to the FTP upload?

When I am in the menus and the FTP Upload (and possibly some other stuff as DB writes etc.) whatever thread is being used to complate these tasks is impacting upon my pointer turning it into the busy/sleepy hourglass pointer that will not go away until I come away from the menus.

I know it sounds like all I do with ANRB is play with the menus all day but it is really disconcerting when you are in the middle of a task and the nice arrow turns into the busy pointer and certainly can't be right.

I have never seen this behaviour on any other program and I use hundreds...

This issue was as good as sorted in previous builds but made its way back in some time ago...:-(

To give it a fighting chance when I install a new full version I start with a new database so that i sonly a fraction of its usual size...

Off to work now so won't get much time to play...

Thanks & regards,
-=Glyn=-

pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #84 on: November 20, 2009, 04:58:00 AM »
Now to all the other beta testers: pls give your best today and try to report any problems. We are here ready to correct them.

Ok, I've installed the new version and testing now.

Also I am sharing the data.

AirNav Dev - can you tell me, if invalid positions are received locally and data is being shared, would you see the invalid location data at the server? If so what do you do with it?

fwiw these are the area's I'm interested in

« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 05:03:13 AM by pjm »

pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #85 on: November 20, 2009, 05:36:12 AM »
Well, after 1 quick test, I don't believe it is fixed either.

I wasn't logging port 30003, however I just tracked QFA729 and it appeared in the text interface the whole time, but disappeared from the radar screen where the purple arrow shows in the screenshot below (it was in the radarscreen where the green arrow is).




pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #86 on: November 20, 2009, 07:34:44 AM »
I've captured a video and telnet session of port 30003 for another example (with the latest ANRB).

http://www.petermcgrath.info/AirNav/blackhole.zip

The aircraft in question is mode-s 7C810C and is is highlighted in both interface and the radar screen (when it is visible on the radar screen)

You can see it in the text interface the entire time of the video.

As the video starts you can see the aircraft approaching the blackhole.

at approx:
18:10 the aircraft stops moving across the radar screen (enters the black hole)
18:16 disappears on the radar screen (GPS parameters disappear)
18:19 aircraft leaves the black hole and re-appears on the radar screen.

Throughout the entire session all parameters (Altitude, GS, heading, vrate etc) are being updated except GPS location, which stops being updated in the "blackhole"





tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #87 on: November 20, 2009, 09:07:53 AM »
My solitary menu issue with the busy pointer seems to have got worse leading me to think it is related to the FTP upload?

I also get a busy pointer during FTP upload.  I don't get it at any other time.  I suspect it's caused by the ftp server being slow to respond.  It doesn't give me a problem though, I've always accepted it, in the same way that programs like Excel give a busy pointer when saving a file, for example.

EDIT: I also get a busy pointer on QNH lookup and network download.  I've always accepted that as normal.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 09:48:26 AM by tarbat »

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #88 on: November 20, 2009, 09:53:25 AM »
I'm still seeing very long range spikes on the polar chart.  These appear to be created by NETWORK aircraft.  See these far to the south of my location, in an area where I normally don't get this range.



EDIT:  It looks like these spikes only get created when the aircraft is flying on a radial away from my home location.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 10:10:21 AM by tarbat »

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: V3.09 (non-beta) Ready
« Reply #89 on: November 20, 2009, 11:36:27 AM »
Other than the polar chart spikes, everything else seems fine on this new version.