AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Problem running in Windows 7  (Read 5339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Problem running in Windows 7
« on: October 28, 2009, 10:04:18 AM »
Beta Version 3.07 up and running in Windows 7 with help from members on how to force it to load correctly. However, it keeps stopping. The first sign is planes disappearing off the map and a gradual decline of information in the interface window. All flights on the radar turn white, then vanish.
It is also impossible to close down as it hangs in. Shutting down Windows 7 fails as well, the only resort then is to turn the main power switch off. It is then necessary to run a clean-up programme which erases loads of empty or corrupted information. Sadly, this is the only programme I have had real problems loading, or running, in W7. I'm wondering if I should scrap the beta versions and try to download the last known stable version. Any comments please.

Thanks

Peter

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2009, 11:35:22 AM »
Don't have Windows 7 so can't comment, but it does seem sensible to try v2.01. This will install in a different directory so you can try it out.

Note that there are some freezing problems with 3.07 beta if you try to sort by certain paramaters, range, altitude and airline are known to be problematic.

But, in my experience the program doesn't crash in the way you describe. Do you get a hardware disconnected message? I wonder if this could be some sort of power-saving-related problem? Check that your USB hubs are not powering down after a period of time.

jetset

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2009, 01:20:33 PM »
I haven't tried the beta, but I've not had any problems with v2 and Win 7 64 (except a small issue whereby if you disconect from network traffic they still appear)
Steve

puddy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
    • Puddy's Homepage
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2009, 01:46:30 PM »
I am getting a free windows 7 ultimate disk in the first week of november from Dell and was wondering which version to use 32 or 64bit?

Hopefully airnav will give us some info on running windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Puddy
« Last Edit: October 28, 2009, 01:48:44 PM by puddy »
Radar Box & AOR8200 mk3 scanner
South Lincolnshire near Boston (UK)

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2009, 02:33:09 PM »
Thanks to all who replied. I've just tried a new registry cleaner tuned up especially for Windows 7. The number of "errors" it came up with was amazing, well over 100, and it was a clean W7 install over the weekend.
Just in case anything was corrupted in this way, I have started 3.07 off and I'll see how long it lasts. I've never seen a disconnection like that on XP3. The cursor was free, the hardware telltale was green, and the little radar screen next to AirNav logo, top RHS, was still going around! Shutting it down seemed to leave it hanging, although it went off the screen! Attempts to shut the computer down reported ANRB still running. A "forced" shutdown didn't work. The only method left, the big switch, did work! The first 3 incidents I didn't actually see this morning, and the radar screen was empty with just a few entries left in the tables. The latest one I did see, and aircraft slowly went white and popped off the screen one by one. I had already disabled the "sleep" features and screen savers, so no problem caused by them. Other programmes have successfully run for over 12 hours, so something very odd.
Will revert back to a non beta version as soon as this one misbehaves to get a comparison for AirNav to work on.

thanks

Peter

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2009, 04:06:39 PM »
Version 3.07 managed around 90 minutes, most of this time just watching. I then decided to change to a different map and within 10 minutes all traffic has timed out. The radar logo next to AirNav still rotates, my harware is still connected, the cursor is free to roam around the screen, and a caption at the bottom says "live data @" and it is the correct date and time. Something I hadn't tried before during these conditions was to select "network traffic", that is working fine, but still no input from myself. I've now closed the programme down, it has disappeared off the screen, BUT, the little repeater screen at the top of the W7 worktop remains. This must mean that it is still aprtially running.
ANRB has run quite happily up to, and including 3.07, on XP3 on this same computer.
The obvious thing to blame would be the USB lead up to the blackbox in the loft getting out of synch or whatever. The big question would be, of course it can happen, but why now, why has it always run happily before. The only change was the new clean installation of Windows 7 following a HDD failure. I'm now going to hunt for an older version of ANRB to istall in a different directory to see what happens.

Peter

jdupons

  • Guest
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2009, 06:41:38 PM »
Tried to use my RadarBox with a brand new 64bit Windows 7 and the problem of the non -Microfsoft-certified usb driver occurred; I'm not at all a specialist and so  I was unable to make the program run.
I've noticed this driver problem thing has been discussed since July at least, so who is taking such a long time to get the drivers certified ?
One day soon a lot more people will be using Windows 7 and it will be necessary to have the proper drivers ... it can't be that difficult to get them certified, no ?

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2009, 06:58:17 PM »
Tried to use my RadarBox with a brand new 64bit Windows 7 and the problem of the non -Microfsoft-certified usb driver occurred; I'm not at all a specialist and so  I was unable to make the program run.
I've noticed this driver problem thing has been discussed since July at least, so who is taking such a long time to get the drivers certified ?
One day soon a lot more people will be using Windows 7 and it will be necessary to have the proper drivers ... it can't be that difficult to get them certified, no ?

Microsoft are the delay. Airnav have submitted their drivers, Microsoft then take an indeterminate time to test them and then certify them, sign them and return them to Airnav.


RadarSpotter01

  • Guest
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2009, 02:15:19 AM »
Peter, I have run windows 7 32bit  under beta and release candidate. Airnav release and beta Software worked fine for me.
I've now got the release Windows 7 DVDs. I tried the 64 bit version and found it coudn't find 2 PCI drivers for my laptop and it appeared erratic and glitchy with the 64 bit graphic drivers from NV
I wiped the HDD and installed Windows 7 32 bit. It found all my hardware and installed all drivers. Also the graphic card 32 bit driver was much slicker with no glitches.
All verisons of Airnav software work well for me under 32bit Windows 7

RadarSpotter01

  • Guest
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2009, 04:23:56 AM »
I guess for now, I'm suggesting run Windows 7 32bit version! Don't activate Windows 7 until you are happy. You have 28 days. If your not happy Uninstall and wait!

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2009, 08:12:13 AM »
Thanks everyone for their comments. I do have the 32 bit programme installed, unfortunately my "better" computer is 5 years old and we did have a few problems with the Motherboard recognising the new HDD! That apparently was a known bug, so was easily overcome. My other computer is 7 years old and the Windows 7 test programme completely rejected any thoughts of changing over from XP3. It was destined for a dark corner in the garage, but I put it back into use and ANRB 3.07 ran happily for around 12 hours before locking up. In this case the screen was frozen with any aircraft remaining in white. The big switch treatment on this does the trick, and there appear to be no rubbish files to be swept up on reboot. It just reboots and carries on!
Running in an XP3 environment was tried with the Mesh unit using Windows 7, this only ran for 1 hour before giving up, so that's not a solution.
Conclusion: There do seem to be stability problems using ANRB in Windows 7 for certain machines. No doubt as its use gets more widespread AirNav might have to listen!
In the meantime I'll use the old Evesham proper XP3 unit, I probably will not leave it running all day anyway. Hopefully the final version of the latest programme will take this into account.
It is interesting to comment that "another" programme ran on the Mesh W7 unit for 48 hours before I stopped it in order to continue the reloading my files!

Thanks to all

Peter

RadarSpotter01

  • Guest
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2009, 02:30:16 AM »
Peter, Does your 5 year old Evesham computer meet the minimum specs for 32 bit Windows 7 ?
I find you need to nearly double Microsofts minimum specs to get a reliable system!

MrT

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #12 on: October 30, 2009, 08:10:56 AM »
I'm still running XP. I didn't even bother with Vesta.

Too many hassels.

I wouldn't even bother upgrading unless I buy a new laptop or pc that has it pre-installed.

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Problem running in Windows 7
« Reply #13 on: October 30, 2009, 08:11:42 AM »
The Evesham definitely doesn't, I tried the "W7" test programme and it came back with a string of incompatabilities. It would have cheaper to dump it and buy a modern one. However, it has now earned a temporary reprieve because it appears to run ANRB in XP3 for up to 12 hours before complaining!
However the Mesh definitely complied, just listed a couple of incompatable items attached which needed further checks. I've given up trying to run ANRB on the Mesh at present until the final version of the programme is released, or until anyone else reports a running problem using Windows 7.