AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Polar Diagram problem  (Read 2171 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Polar Diagram problem
« on: October 01, 2009, 10:57:52 PM »
The polar diagram seems to have gone a bit loopy.  Could it be the real-time data causing this?

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9128
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2009, 12:37:50 AM »
I've seen the same apparently silly lobes on my polar, but put it down to atmospheric conditions (not that I know anything about them). Now that you mention it, though, it did coincide with running the real-time network. Maybe there is a connection.

Rod
Rod

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2009, 06:53:46 AM »
Yes, I do get spikes normally, but this diagram just seems too random.  Maybe I should have noticed this earlier, but I don't use the polar diagram all that often :0)

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2009, 08:06:58 PM »
Can the other beta testers confirm this is a real problem?

EMA

  • Guest
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2009, 08:30:59 PM »
I am not using the real time network and the polar diagram looks fine.

Kevin

pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2009, 08:38:05 PM »
I haven't seen to problem using the local/delayed network, and I always have the polar diagram turned on.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2009, 08:56:15 PM »
Can the other beta testers confirm this is a real problem?

My polar diagram looks the same as normal.  And I use the real-time network.

I'll reset it now, but it will take a few days to build up again.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2009, 08:58:10 PM by tarbat »

Frank

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2009, 09:05:39 PM »
No problems noticed here. Just using the local/delayed network

Frank

EMA

  • Guest
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2009, 09:35:35 PM »
I reset mine last Friday and it looks no different now than before the latest beta.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9128
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2009, 09:36:03 PM »
Well, according to my polar, I'm receiving flights 290nm to the south, and all the way from Amsterdam. And they're decent lobes, not just spikes.

Maybe it's the weather conditions, or else it's something about the software - I certainly haven't done anything to my aerial. It's a bit odd. Mind you, I haven't ever observed a live flight actually in these distant lobes.

Rod
Rod

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2009, 01:19:41 PM »
There's definately a problem with the polar diagram when using the real-time network.  I'm getting spikes out to over 300 miles to the south, which are not local returns.

I suspect there's a problem with the logic that is tracking hardware aircraft when they transition to/from network aircraft.  It's not all aircraft though, just a few.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2009, 04:23:03 PM »
Something that might help diagnose this problem.  I've noticed that something happens to the polar chart when an aircraft times out.  To demonstrate:

1. Clear the polar chart (in Preferences)

2. Run for a short while, and you'll see something like this, with a lot of radiating lines from home.


3. Turn OFF Process Hardware Flights

4. The radiating lines get removed.


So, I'm guessing that theres some logic in Radarbox that tries to fill in the gaps in the polar chart when an aircraft times-out.  It may be this processing that is causing the anomolies.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9128
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Polar Diagram problem
« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2009, 08:28:45 PM »
If I do what you've described, Tarbat, I can get the radiating lines to be removed just by zooming or just moving the map a bit.

Rod
« Last Edit: October 21, 2009, 08:39:45 PM by RodBearden »
Rod