AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: RAF Chinooks  (Read 2309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

t1mb0

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
RAF Chinooks
« on: October 15, 2009, 04:54:29 PM »
An appeal really for someone in the know.
Fleetlands in Hampsire have won a contract to upgrade the RAFs Chinooks.
I gather that only a small number of the fleet carry Mode S, does anyone out there know if part of the upgrade is to install this equipment?

Thanks in advance
12m SE of EGHI

t1mb0

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: RAF Chinooks
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 03:04:02 PM »
...and have picked up a 'new' one today
43C4CA ZA708

clutching at straws really but does anyone know if this is a 'new' fit.
12m SE of EGHI

hofs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: RAF Chinooks
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2009, 04:07:13 PM »
Most of the military aircraft have mode S but they dont use it always because they use mode A or C .
When you see military aircraft flying together most of the time only one aircraft is using mode s and the other are using A or C.
Al the update's for the chinooks are mentioned  on  the internet.
Netherlands chinooks do have mode S.
Fred

anorak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • support The Devon Air Ambulance Trust
Re: RAF Chinooks
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2009, 06:45:07 PM »
If it`s on the Chinooks should it be mode u/s.
Dave. Exmoor, North Devon.

t1mb0

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: RAF Chinooks
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2009, 07:11:04 PM »

Al the update's for the chinooks are mentioned  on  the internet.


hmm I thought just the two based at Boscombe had the equipment on board
12m SE of EGHI