AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Filtering out all Military or Civil  (Read 3256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DoctorM

  • Guest
Filtering out all Military or Civil
« on: October 15, 2009, 05:58:47 PM »
Is it possible to filter out using flags like Planeplotter does?

If so, can anyone explain how please!

Thanks

DRM

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Filtering out all Military or Civil
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2009, 06:10:03 PM »
You can filter the aircraft list by using the quickfilters.

You can filter the map by using Fleet Watch, but this won't help with military aircraft, as they don't appear on the SBS/RB map anyway.

What exactly are you trying to achieve?

DoctorM

  • Guest
Re: Filtering out all Military or Civil
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2009, 06:22:07 PM »
I just want either civil or military to show up in the grid, so if I click on Network for example I dont have to search through hundreds of tracks to find the military stuff.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Filtering out all Military or Civil
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2009, 06:27:55 PM »
Military traffic won't show on the network, as it only shows aircraft with position information - and military aircraft don't generally show their positions.

To show aircraft in the list, use something like Mode S = 43C* in the MyFlight Quick Filters.

I don't remember being able to filter military or civil aircraft in my SBS-1?  How do you do that - it's quite a while since I've used my SBS-1.

DoctorM

  • Guest
Re: Filtering out all Military or Civil
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2009, 06:37:39 PM »
Oh I thought they did, as last night I had 2 GAF show up, one being an A310 on the network.

Thats why I thought they did lol!

Hey ho, more learning taking place.

Thanks

DRM

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Filtering out all Military or Civil
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2009, 06:49:35 PM »
You can sort the aircraft list on the Country Flag, and then look for the military roundels.  You'll see military aircraft on the Network when they're operating a "civilian" type aircraft, such as the A310s of the German airforce.

landyman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • IC-706, UBC3500XLT, ANRB.
Re: Filtering out all Military or Civil
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2009, 11:42:50 PM »
I'm interested in military.

So I have in my Quick filter Mode S > 43C*

Then select to sort on Mode S

Buy clicking on the top & bottom of list side pointing (!) arrows, I can move from UK to US military aircraft at the list ends.  Not always at the very end but close enough to see.

Unfortunately a bug in 2.01 losses the sort on Mode S column at apparently random times, so you need to keep re-setting the sort.

Another bug: don't pass the cursor over the map as you will invariably pass quickly over an aircraft.  That selects that aircraft as the new 'Selected Flight' and screws it up.

[The cursor should only select an object that the cursor pauses over.]

I also have ticked Mode S in my 'Alerts' and have three lines:-
AD*
AE*
43C*

When a military aircraft is in radio range, I hear a beep.  There are a few problems with the alert pop-up, but they may not annoy you like they annoy me!

After a while you will learn how long to wait before looking outside for different types.

HTH.

Reg.