AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: wrong position?  (Read 14466 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sterigia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • forza paris
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2009, 08:54:35 PM »
dumpty i am NOT complaining i just am asking for some help on something i noticed looked wrong. excuse me if i don't know everything.
frank
ciao.
frank

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2009, 09:02:33 PM »
what must i do then, help appreciated, the database came with the program, freshly installed

Well all you can do is to search the database for the flight number and change the route information to reflect the real route. Make sure you check your sources carefully.

I think that if you do this and all the information in the record is complete (don't forget to change the time/date part) then RB won't go and look up the routing again for about 6 months.

sterigia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • forza paris
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2009, 09:13:40 PM »
seems like a long job, anyway where is the database located and how do i edit it, and above all which are my sources
thanks
frank
ciao.
frank

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2009, 09:21:14 PM »
seems like a long job, anyway where is the database located and how do i edit it, and above all which are my sources

The database is navdata.db3, you can use the Database Explorer entry on the File... menu to open it. There are various records stored, I don't have it open in front of me but naturally you will want to search in flight IDs.

As for sources, well anything from airline timetables to specialist web sites I suppose, personally I've not really gone looking for route information.

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2009, 09:23:43 PM »
what must i do then,

Frank: As I said before: maintain your database! You have seen above that two flight-id's not have te correct route. So, start to change (edit in your File > database-explorer > (select) routes) this two flight-id's with the correct information and you have solved your first two problems....

Sources to check flight-id's:

http://www.flytecomm.com/cgi-bin/trackflight (unfortunatenly out of order this days)
http://www.flightstats.com/go/FlightStatus/flightStatusByRoute.do

Fenris: you are totally right; I am exactly working as you described and is no problem for RB. This is what I mean with "maintain your database" if you want to have the most actuall flight information on your screen and in your reports.
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2009, 09:27:08 PM »
I will add that I have not spotted any incorrect routes, but then I don't spend every minute looking at aircraft and checking their flight paths in comparison to their displayed route.

If you're not happy, then you have the tools to fix it, one flight ID at a time.

sterigia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • forza paris
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2009, 09:43:40 PM »
thanks for the help. i will get around to correcting them when i have enough time . its not such a big issue. at least now i know why, i think.
again thanks
frank
ciao.
frank

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2009, 10:01:05 PM »
OK Frank, like Brian I don't look at every route but as you have said, if you see one that is very wrong then you will notice it :-)

I think that maintaining an accurate route database will be a very big job, I know that John spends a lot of time on this as it is important to him.  Hopefully now you have a little more understanding of how the routes work.

Enjoy your RadarBox and don't be afraid to ask more questions - we all have our own special requirements for RB!

Regards

Allocator

sterigia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • forza paris
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2009, 10:07:13 PM »
ok thanks for the help.
 one last question why is the info wrong to start with? i do not spend much time looking at flights as i have a demanding job and a family that come first, even though my pc is on most of the time, i just noticed something odd. thats all.
frank
ciao.
frank

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #24 on: October 12, 2009, 10:19:01 PM »
I'm not sure that there is a 100% route database anywhere in the world - other than the ATC computer database and we're not going to get access to that.  The same applies to the aircraft registration database.  The data just isn't available to the general public for free.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8764
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #25 on: October 12, 2009, 10:34:56 PM »
I think I'm right in saying that when airlines change from summer to winter schedules and vice versa, they will re-allocate flight numbers to different routes. October is when a lot of them will change, as will be April/May.

So the problem is at its worst at the moment :-(

Rod
Rod

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #26 on: October 12, 2009, 10:50:58 PM »
I'm not sure that there is a 100% route database anywhere in the world - other than the ATC computer database and we're not going to get access to that.

Allocator:
That is an other story. I know that. But for years since there are ICAO-callsign's I call this ridiculous; this air of secrecy.

Why should this not be public? As said: I am asking me this for many years.......

I think I'm right in saying that when airlines change from summer to winter schedules and vice versa, they will re-allocate flight numbers to different routes.

Rod:

You are totally right. Many companies working so. DLH re-allocate ALL there flight-id's every new season until sofar.......... I give up that for some years ago. Most of the DLH flights are going over my screen without route information because of that....
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #27 on: October 13, 2009, 08:28:48 AM »
DLH re-allocate ALL there flight-id's every new season until sofar..........

I think that's a bit of an exaggeration.

DLH9U departed EGLL for EDDF a couple of hours ago - I've been picking up that same flight pretty well every day since I started my current log in March 2006.
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #28 on: October 13, 2009, 09:05:58 AM »
DLH9U departed EGLL for EDDF a couple of hours ago - I've been picking up that same flight pretty well every day since I started my current log in March 2006.

Dave,

Could be. I stopped following DLH flights since that time because of the above mentionde reason. With the exeption of DLH flights to/from EHAM.

Thanks to a nice employe of DLH in the Netherlands I got until last year all the decodes. They changed every new "timetable season".

It is good for you not having to change so much numbers every time there comes out a new timetable. So I will take back the phrase "DLH re-allocate ALL there flight-id's" and change it into "DLH re-allocate ALMOST ALL there flight-id's".

Hope all is correctly said now by me and understandable. Sorry in advance for not 100% mastering the English language...
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: wrong position?
« Reply #29 on: October 13, 2009, 09:22:23 AM »
Hope all is correctly said now by me and understandable. Sorry in advance for not 100% mastering the English language...

Don't worry about it - your English is better than my Dutch  :-)
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour