anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.  (Read 14460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jeremy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Jeremy
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2009, 03:40:53 PM »
Network is in and out all the time here. Has been for weeks.
J.
G4DOQ
QRZ.com

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2009, 03:47:24 PM »
Network is in and out all the time here. Has been for weeks.
J.

I haven't seen any Network issues for weeks.  Must be a problem at your end?

DazrahT

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2009, 04:03:53 PM »
Picked up F-WWOW doing two fly-pasts at EGBB (BHX) at about 1600hrs.

My mate was happy, as he was photting it from the footbridge at Marston Green railway station!

As for the network, I have found a fault whereby network flights appear on map, but not on the Network list, this shows (0), will post in appropriate thread on forum
In the middle of EGBE and EGBB

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2009, 04:37:25 PM »
Picked up F-WWOW just after its flypast at Hawarden.  The Vulcan was waiting to go on afterwards I think as it was down at 2200 ft for a while.  I picked up Jet Provost G-BWSG at the same time too :-)

1030man

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #19 on: September 05, 2009, 05:05:32 PM »
From Birmingham to Bristol then disappeared from the network - seems to have landed at Filton but really cannot tell. Bristol is 90+ nm from here and just outside the western range of the RB supplied aerial although I can see nearly 200nm south into France with it.
I alas made the mistake of purchasing a Vista laptop for RB and suffer the resultant delays, zero msgs, everything white on the screen, blank screen et.al. that other vista users seem to suffer with vista  Hope V3 cures these ills.
Nr Biggleswade, Beds

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2009, 05:21:20 PM »
I alas made the mistake of purchasing a Vista laptop for RB and suffer the resultant delays, zero msgs, everything white on the screen, blank screen et.al. that other vista users seem to suffer with vista  Hope V3 cures these ills.

Strange - runs perfectly on Vista for me.

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #21 on: September 05, 2009, 06:49:21 PM »
I alas made the mistake of purchasing a Vista laptop for RB and suffer the resultant delays, zero msgs, everything white on the screen, blank screen et.al. that other vista users seem to suffer with vista  Hope V3 cures these ills.

Do you have it installed outside the Program Files directory and do you have any AV disk monitoring excluded there? If not, there be dragons.

1030man

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #22 on: September 05, 2009, 07:27:07 PM »
Hi Fenris;

Running Vista on a Dell Inspiron Dual Core with 4gig memory. It's less than a year old with nothing much else loaded except AVG and I have made an 'exception' there for RB.

RB2009 loaded as a full installation (not upgraded from 2007) and not in Program Files though not being a 'techie' I'm not sure where I would enable/disable an AV monitor.

RB is a brilliant product in my book so I am hesitant to raise issues that may be taken as criticism of RB - too much of that on the forum already at times - when the real issue is either me and my lack of computer knowledge or Vista itself as a platform for RB.

I do read the forum articles relating to vista use but dare I say that much of it goes over my head. However, I think I have adhered to the critical issues.

Perhaps you could pm me as any assistance would indeed be welcomed.
Nr Biggleswade, Beds

EMA

  • Guest
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #23 on: September 05, 2009, 07:32:21 PM »
I run Radarbox on two Dell XPS vista systems and have had only minor issues with all versions.

Providing RB is installed in its own directory then it shold run fine.

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #24 on: September 05, 2009, 08:14:31 PM »
Hi Fenris;

Running Vista on a Dell Inspiron Dual Core with 4gig memory. It's less than a year old with nothing much else loaded except AVG and I have made an 'exception' there for RB.

RB2009 loaded as a full installation (not upgraded from 2007) and not in Program Files though not being a 'techie' I'm not sure where I would enable/disable an AV monitor.

RB is a brilliant product in my book so I am hesitant to raise issues that may be taken as criticism of RB - too much of that on the forum already at times - when the real issue is either me and my lack of computer knowledge or Vista itself as a platform for RB.

I do read the forum articles relating to vista use but dare I say that much of it goes over my head. However, I think I have adhered to the critical issues.

Perhaps you could pm me as any assistance would indeed be welcomed.

OK, when you say you made an exception for RB what did you do? Later you say you're not sure how to enable/disable AV in this way.

It's real time monitoring you need to stop, because RB is forever changing the files in its own directory you need to ensure AVG does not keep rescanning.

1030man

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #25 on: September 05, 2009, 10:07:55 PM »
Hi Fenris,
Thanks for replying. I won't pretend to say that I understand directories because I don't - I was a pilot and I am sure you can deduce my level of computer knowledge from that!

In AVG Resident Shield - Exceptions - I have made an 'exception' for RB pathway.
In - Advanced Settings - I have unticked the box that scans file extensions.

In RB - Preferences - I have set the - Screen Refresh - to 4000ms. I assumed, probably incorrectly, that AV means an audio visual component but I do not know how or where to access that.

I use the RB supplied aerial on a South facing bedroom windowsill and get very good results to the South (up to 200nm at night) and up to about 90nm in most other directions
with a few exceptions due to physical items.

Did A380 F-WWOW land at Filton?

Cheers

Nr Biggleswade, Beds

EMA

  • Guest
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #26 on: September 06, 2009, 07:54:35 AM »
Do you have radar box software installed in it's own directory?

eg

C:\Airnav

If not then it is best to.


1030man

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #27 on: September 06, 2009, 10:32:08 AM »
Hi EMA and thanks for your reply.

Yes, I do have RB installed in its' own directory (C/AirNavSystems/AirNavRadarbox2009) and not in C/Program Files.

Being well into my 60's and retired for nearly 20 years, the notion of being able to sit in the garden with my vista laptop and communicate with RB + Rooftop aerial on my XP desktop was sadly not achieved. I now sit the laptop upstairs with the supplied aerial and enjoy it much the same but I am not swift enough to dash upstairs too often in a day.

I look forward  to the recently announced proposal to develop a LAN facility in RB - Count me in on that one and to hell with the cost.

Any idea where A380 F-WWOW ended up yesterday? I lost it on the Network over Filton.
Nr Biggleswade, Beds

Marpleman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Proper aeroplanes!
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #28 on: September 06, 2009, 10:34:11 AM »
If it helps to anyone, I'm running on Vista on a Acer Aspire 5720 laptop

Downloaded full versions for both v2 and 3 betas into "program files" without any re-mappings or setting up of separate folders - just let the program load as it wanted to, as I don't have a clue as to these sort of things,so thought it best to let it do what it wanted.

Set up exception in AVG as "1030" man did also as hinted elsewhere on the forum as a known conflict with that software

Never had any problems whatsoever with it running on Vista!

Rich


cornish rebel

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: A380 at Edinburgh this weekend.
« Reply #29 on: September 06, 2009, 11:27:47 AM »
Just picked up the A380 F-WWOW departing from Filton on the network looks like it stopped there for the night
Located in Limerick Ireland about 20 odd miles from Shannon airport EINN