AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: importing Wide area files  (Read 6546 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
importing Wide area files
« on: November 09, 2007, 12:47:38 PM »
Hi there, I was wondering if one could import Wide Aera files into Radarbox?

jetvision got some files for the SBS-1 not sure if they can be imported into Radarbox

http://jetvision.de/sbs.shtml

any help, thanks Marc

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2007, 01:10:39 PM »
Hi there, I was wondering if one could import Wide Aera files into Radarbox?

jetvision got some files for the SBS-1 not sure if they can be imported into Radarbox

http://jetvision.de/sbs.shtml

any help, thanks Marc

Marc,

if you mean the .out flies that the SBS-1 uses, then the answer is yes.  See this AirNav FAQ:

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=58.0

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2007, 04:38:40 PM »
thanks

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2007, 04:48:10 PM »
I've experimented by putting  Bone's .out files in my outline folder and all works well apart from the double lining of the UK map. There may be others duplicated but the important thing for me would be to remove the basic UK outline to start with in favour of the HR version. I thought that I had deleted, in turn, every file in the programme, but obviously not, as the basic map still appears on every reload! Anyone know which file, and where it is please?

Thanks

Peter

davis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • RANGE
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2007, 06:15:01 PM »
i've the same problem. i have do the out file of Sardinia and i have put on Outlines folder. Now i have the real cost of Sardinia buti want to ask if is possible to delete the basic map of sardinia that i see always under the lines that i have created.

you can see here

http://img230.imageshack.us/my.php?image=asdnc0.gif

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 06:20:43 PM by davis »

f6gsg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Electa L12
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2007, 09:11:17 PM »
Hello,

so am i ...
the Map behind south Maditerranean sea is not well (but official),
if i can change or modify it , it would be nice.

i try to change some parameters of my own outlines  (color, thikness ...)
but without great sucess ... ($type=13 for red line,$type=14 for white line)

is someone know wich data are accepted by RB in outlines ?
not completly compatible with jetvision.

and i don't know where is the official Map (.dat)

Patrick / F6GSG

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2007, 01:15:29 PM »
would be nice if AIRNAV could assist us..

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2007, 02:11:20 PM »
It should be able to support basic out files, however any new types you will need to go to File -> Preferences -> Map Colours and assign the colours using Type 25+.

Hope that helps.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2007, 04:16:28 PM »
I think AirNav support have missed an important point which several people have asked about in this thread. The map outline of any country is very simple, just as the SBS-1 was before it was redrawn in HD by Bones. His map outlines certainly work on RB for the UK, Belgium, France etc, but no-one seems to have succeeded in zapping the original simple coastline trace. It looks very untidy and offputting to have two coastlines that obviously do not co-incide where just a straight line may have been programmed to show a wiggly coastline! I did find a button to remove outlines, but it isn't selective, it is all or nothing! The SBS-1 coastlines appear in an individually named file in the .out folder and all that is required is to reduce the original file to 0 bytes, the old trace then went away. The UK file in the RB .out file seems to be just a snapshot of a saved area of the UK, take it out, but nothing happens apart from the loss of that saved area. The simple coastline trace pops up again to haunt you!

Peter

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2007, 04:57:23 PM »
The import out files in RadarBox were not to be used to create new coastlines etc.. They were just so airports could be added with more detail.

The RadarBox default data already has soo much that we did not think out files were needed for that purpose. There isn't an easy way to remove the RB data unfortuantely.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 05:02:05 PM by AirNav Support »
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: importing Wide area files
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2007, 05:18:08 PM »
Thanks very much for your help.

cheers

Peter