AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta  (Read 157985 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

EK01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4847
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #240 on: August 08, 2009, 10:53:35 AM »
I've read through the previous 16 pages of posts on this topic so apologies if I've missed this...
Has anyone else noticed this problem with 3.01 ?

I'm happier than a pig in manure with the latest version -  ATRs, Embraers and bizjets are all throwing up flight numbers and routes (because that box is ticked), something that wasn't available on my previous versions.

However... and this is the bugbear from previous versions... I input the full details for N407BV an A320 due Shannon tonight prior to it's pickup on the box. I have 'Auto Populate Aircraft Data' and 'Download Aircraft Photo' ticked in the preferences box but when the aircraft was picked up, Database Explorer was populated (overwritten ! :-(  ) by 'Tie up extracted from Country Sequence' in the A/C Name field.

This has happened on so many occasions now that I have a real pain in my breasts  with the problem. I also find that for 90% or so of new aircraft picked up that the 'AT' field is populated as three dots in Database Explorer, all other fields correct. Apart from that I'm really happy with V 3.01 and I don't really want to untick the 'Autopopulate' box as it was a real pain updating the dB manually prior to his.

Speaking of 'untick' can we not have an 'opt in' rather than 'opt out' option for 'Share Data' in Preferences/Radar Box. If Ryanair can do it, surely to God Airnav can do it also ?

When it eventually works !
« Last Edit: August 08, 2009, 11:04:45 AM by EK01 »

JStobbie

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #241 on: August 08, 2009, 11:00:58 AM »
Since moving to Beta version 3.01 I have had a some strange activity in the Reporter log .... basically if either G-BWDB (ATR72) or JA736J (B777) should be logged they appear thousands of times!! and I do mean thousands. I had both one day this week and the total logged for the day was some 27,000 !! ... there used to be a few instances of these 2 aircraft previously maybe a dozen or so times over a few minutes but this is just crazy.

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #242 on: August 08, 2009, 11:48:25 AM »
AirNav,

This seems to be tied up with the problem I have. I output data from port 30003 to PlanePlotter servers and since installing V3.01 beta my RB has been sending spurious aircraft data to the PlanePlotter servers, causing them to ban me from sharing.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #243 on: August 08, 2009, 12:10:00 PM »
I output data from port 30003 to PlanePlotter servers and since installing V3.01 beta my RB has been sending spurious aircraft data to the PlanePlotter servers, causing them to ban me from sharing.

Strange.  I share onto the Planeplotter network (sharer pQ), and I haven't been banned.  What IO option are you using in PP - the following work okay:
1. SBS1 tcp (port 30003)
2. Radarbox tcp (port 7879)

I use port 7879 now.

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #244 on: August 08, 2009, 12:51:44 PM »
This seems to be tied up with the problem I have. I output data from port 30003 to PlanePlotter servers and since installing V3.01 beta my RB has been sending spurious aircraft data to the PlanePlotter servers, causing them to ban me from sharing.

I'm not up to speed with the latest versions of PlanePlotter, but it occurs to me that if up to now the RadarBox 30003 output wasn't compatible with the SBS's, then presumably PP takes that into account when you tell it that the output is coming from a RadarBox ?

Now that it is compatible, have you tried telling PlanePlotter to expect SBS-format output ?
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #245 on: August 08, 2009, 01:15:09 PM »
Now that it is compatible, have you tried telling PlanePlotter to expect SBS-format output ?

Exactly.  Either use SBS tcp (30003), or Radarbox tcp (7879).  Do not use Radarbox 30003.  This was discussed on the Planeplotter forum when I was closed-beta testing v3.

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #246 on: August 08, 2009, 02:01:37 PM »
Tarbat and Dave,

I must have missed those posts - I do tend to spend my time actually tracking aircraft with mlat rather than reading all the posts every day.

Strange that Bev didn't mention it when I had the prob. I'll reinstall v3.01 Beta and try RB tcp.

Thanks for the info guys.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #247 on: August 08, 2009, 11:50:32 PM »
One thing I've noticed is that if I go to full screen on the map and then back to the normal window, the map scale changes considerably.

I would expect it to come back to where it was originally.

I don't know if this is the same as it was on v2.01 as I could never get the map to show after coming back from full screen.

Paulc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #248 on: August 09, 2009, 08:57:03 PM »
Alerts still not working on V3.0 or 3.1 - worked ok on v2.0

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4124
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #249 on: August 09, 2009, 09:15:28 PM »
Paulc,

Can you explain what your entering? for most people this is working fine.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

Paulc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #250 on: August 10, 2009, 05:38:57 AM »
Am only entering registration info (ie G-FLC* for new Flybe DHC8)  for specific aircraft and as on V2 would hope to get an on screen message pop up. Had one appear on dataline yesterday evening but no alert.

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #251 on: August 10, 2009, 06:41:04 AM »
I'm missing some airport names and codes  e.g. Heathrow, Luton, Whilst Gatwick, London City and others are showing. Any ideas? I did a search but couldn't find this mentioned before.

Tom

Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

EK01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4847
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #252 on: August 10, 2009, 10:33:35 AM »
 I quite often get instances where Glasgow and Prestwick airport names do not appear when the 'Fix' for Lanak is named on the map. If I turn Fixes off and then on again, up pops the names for Glasgow and Prestwick Airports but no name for the Lanak fix although the actual triangle symbol is shown. Most strange. I'm sure it did not happen with the previous version 2.

Ian

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #253 on: August 10, 2009, 10:44:16 AM »
Ian,

Thanks for that tip. I turned on FIX and the missing names reappeared. Turned FIX off and they remained.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

EK01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4847
Re: RELEASED - AirNav RadarBox 2009 - 3.01 Beta
« Reply #254 on: August 10, 2009, 10:58:18 AM »
Tom,

Probably difficult to tell unless you also study a particular 'Fix' as I do with Lanak as it is the main one for Glasgow and Edinburgh airports but did you notice if any of the names of the 'Fixes' disappeared when you got your airport names back ?

Ian