anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: polar range  (Read 6779 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

westie v8

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
polar range
« on: July 07, 2009, 05:19:32 PM »
hi all..this my first post so go easy,
     i've had my rad box for 3 months now and it's been a joy (makes a big change from just the airband radio ) the thing is that my polar diagram today has gone from 200+ miles down to 40 ish miles, i've changed nothing, still using the outside ariel and tried it on my laptop with the outside and the supplied ariel and still no joy even tried 2 other computers and still the same.....thanks and good luck

fatkat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: polar range
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2009, 05:48:54 PM »
remember that the polar plot is only generated if you have traffic !

we could do a smallest polar plot !  mine is  from the bristol channel to the humber and mersey to the wash  ....thats with a roof mounted aerial !  with a max of 50 a/c at anyone time.....   its just my dreadful location in a bowl on top of a hill

westie v8

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: polar range
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2009, 05:57:18 PM »
thanks..i'm picking up traffic with my scanner where i would with the rad box, it seems as if something has changed or altered, a plane (b757) has just landed at donny(robinhood airport) 20 miles away and the rad box never even picked it up but a few days ago would.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: polar range
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2009, 06:53:28 PM »
Check the antenna connections.  Check that the centre pin connection on the antenna lead is okay.

westie v8

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: polar range
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2009, 01:41:33 PM »
hi, it's the same with antenna which came with the rad box

fatkat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: polar range
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2009, 07:19:53 AM »
sounds very much like your getting no signal  ........

there seems to have been several incidences of the supplied aerial's lead  failing/ not being robust ...

are you getting any lights [blue ans white ] on the box at all  ?

does the computer "see" the radarbox ?

bratters

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 935
Re: polar range
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2009, 11:39:53 AM »
Hi Westie - hate to say it but it sounds as if you've got all the symptoms of the dreaded "filter problem" -  more than enough about this on the forum if you search.

If you're sure that there have been no changes to your box and set up, then get it back to your supplier for a quick and easy repair.


flightchecker

  • Guest
Re: polar range
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2009, 01:54:28 PM »
AirNav Development
AirNav Systems
Hero Member

Posts: 936


      Re: Static - earthing antennas - specifically earthing Magmount types.
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2009, 09:14:17 pm » Quote 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Explaining again this static problem is related to a very limited number of boxes manufactured before Aug 2008.

The problem WILL NOT happen to any box made after that date. Also all the boxes that are returned come totally protected against static (a new electronic device is added for free).

Quote
Hi Westie - hate to say it but it sounds as if you've got all the symptoms of the dreaded "filter problem" -  more than enough about this on the forum if you search.

Still not believing in AirNavs words as  above, bratters ?
Thread to be locked now?

Karl
« Last Edit: July 10, 2009, 09:48:52 AM by flight checker »

bratters

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 935
Re: polar range
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2009, 02:09:15 PM »
Certainly not trying to rock any boats Karl; just trying to help a guy out.

When mine went on the blink first time, I could have used some sensible and practical advice. The short answer Westie is to treat the box like any other piece of equipment: if it don't work, take it back and get it fixed.

As you already know, it's a cracking bit of kit and worth getting sorted.

flightchecker

  • Guest
Re: polar range
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2009, 03:45:41 PM »
Understood bratters,


Karl

westie v8

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: polar range
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2009, 06:27:07 PM »
thanks all.... sent the box back yesterday, they seem to know about the problem.

malc41

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 586
Re: polar range
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2009, 07:35:23 PM »
westie v8 would you keep us informed on the outcome of your box?
15 Miles East of EGNJ

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: polar range
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2009, 06:38:17 AM »
thanks all.... sent the box back yesterday, they seem to know about the problem.

Can you give a rough indication of your serial number, for interest, last two digits don't matter, first three do.

westie v8

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: polar range
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2009, 12:34:54 PM »
when it comes back will do...thanks

westie v8

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: polar range
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2009, 09:48:31 AM »
hi all...box came back yesterday with an engineers report saying ( front end filter replaced, tested all working ok ) now back up and running ok. thanks to all for your help,  ps... serial no...9575800100  westie