AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Minor Bugs  (Read 16401 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

EMA

  • Guest
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #45 on: July 13, 2009, 02:27:33 PM »
I have run the beta on three separate systems and cannot get this problem to occur.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8876
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #46 on: July 13, 2009, 02:41:25 PM »
If it's useful, I'm on Win XP Home Sp3.

Machine is Acer T160 with AMD 64 3400+, 2.21 Ghz, 2.93 GB RAM.

Rod
Rod

Frank

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #47 on: July 13, 2009, 03:20:06 PM »
Mine is a Dual core intel pc 2gb ram.

 I have noticed that when I restart the program and track a flight,  there appears to be no problem at the beginning. But it happened three times on my PC that, after a couple of minutes, almost all ( not all, about 90% ) network flights disappear from the map (not the grid). After a couple of seconds (5-10) they re-appear again. After this has happened the trouble starts. However this is not always the case. Most of the time the problem starts without the disappearing of the Network flights from the map. So it's a bit hard to trace I guess, but I am not an expert mind you. I just write down what I observe....

Frank

EMA

  • Guest
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #48 on: July 13, 2009, 04:01:45 PM »
All my systems are Intel Quad core and running Vista Premium.

Have you checked what other applications are running and closed them down to see if anything is competing with Radarbox?

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8876
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #49 on: July 13, 2009, 08:04:34 PM »
I've done most of the testing with only RB and Firefox running. I doesn't seem to matter if I then start other apps.

And I'm running Norton Internet Security.

Rod
Rod

EMA

  • Guest
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #50 on: July 13, 2009, 08:07:35 PM »
Hi Rod

Is it possible to disable Norton just to see if that has any effect?

Try as I might I cannot see this issue on my systems. I use AVG and Avast.

Kevin

Frank

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #51 on: July 13, 2009, 08:11:34 PM »
All my systems are Intel Quad core and running Vista Premium.

Have you checked what other applications are running and closed them down to see if anything is competing with Radarbox?

Closed down all  running programs, but it makes no difference.

Frank

EMA

  • Guest
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #52 on: July 13, 2009, 08:13:30 PM »
All my systems are Intel Quad core and running Vista Premium.

Have you checked what other applications are running and closed them down to see if anything is competing with Radarbox?

Closed down all  running programs, but it makes no difference.

Frank

Strange........

Any ideas Airnav?

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8876
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #53 on: July 13, 2009, 08:51:36 PM »
Turned off all anti-virus and firewall Norton features, restarted RB, no difference - same old jumpy behaviour.

Also tried not doing any grid sorting - left it in "natural" order, still jumping around.

Rod
Rod

EGNXR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #54 on: July 14, 2009, 01:28:41 PM »
Hi Rod,

I've just read a post by Tarbat on the main discussion forum about screen refresh rates in preferances. Having just changed mine from 1000ms to Tarbat's setting of 4000ms this has cured the jumping for me.

I watched it yesterday, if you set the red box to the top of the stack and left the mouse alone it jumped two or three places down regularly until eventualy it reach the bottom were it stayed. I took a video of of it with my phone but its not very clear.

In the time its taken me towrite this post the red box is still on the same aircraft even thou' entries have been added above and below.

HTH Cheers John
Based in Derby 5Nm NW of EGNX

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #55 on: July 14, 2009, 01:30:34 PM »
Just shows that so many things can affect a bug.  I never expected screen refresh rate to be a factor.  I've always used 4000ms.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8876
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #56 on: July 14, 2009, 04:01:20 PM »
Well, I'm afraid it hasn't affected my bug - tried 4000 and 2000ms, restarted RB, still jumping - it's making the network grid pretty well unusable - this thread's name is no longer appropriate!

Rod
Rod

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8876
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Network Grid Selection Jumping
« Reply #57 on: July 14, 2009, 08:16:43 PM »
I've renamed this thread to draw AirNav's attention to it - it's a serious problem for me.

Rod
Rod

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8876
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Network Grid Selection Jumping
« Reply #58 on: July 15, 2009, 03:42:08 PM »
At least I thought I had, ah well...

Dev - are you going to make any more contributions to this forum???

Rod
Rod

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Minor Bugs
« Reply #59 on: July 15, 2009, 04:15:14 PM »
Can you establish any common factor for those affected by this bug?  No matter what I try, I've been unable to make it jump.

Maybe you could export your RB registry settings and post them here, so we can see if there's something different about how your RB is setup.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AirNav Systems\ANRB