anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Using Winsend.  (Read 5624 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

daveg4otu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Using Winsend.
« on: May 28, 2009, 07:50:11 PM »
Been trying unsuccessfully to set up Winsend to connect with LibHomeRadar.


In the connections boxes the SBS   connection  connects  automatically - then eventaully disconnects.

The Radarbox connection fails to make it at all. ...say unable to connect - check Port , IP & Firewall. Does not  help with FW off.

The details in the connection  box are"radarbox.libhomeradar.org " and Port 8080. and shows "not activated"

Does anyone have any experience of this and what are the correct  entries and port?
5 Miles N of BHD at 50.28.28 N/3.30.43W...400ft amsl.

Hampshire, Devon, Dorset and Isle of Wight  Airfields Websites.....
http://devonairfields.tripod.com/index.htm

jgrloit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
Re: Using Winsend.
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2009, 08:58:33 PM »
I have looked at the instructions from the Libhomeradar.org pages and see a couple of possible problems:-

Radarbox.libhomeradar.org needs port 33333  to connect to
collector.libhomeradar.org uses port 8080
if you are running the winsend software on the same system as the RB software the address will be 127.0.0.1  on port 7879 for an RB connect.
Hope these points help.
Based in Hexham - Tyne Valley 
Best view for RB is North of a line between EGNT and EGNC  - includes OTA and Spade, to EGPH above 7500ft.   Can be TRUE mobile with Mobile Broadband feed to Network.

daveg4otu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Re: Using Winsend.
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2009, 06:39:22 AM »
Thanks for that - but it hasn't helped so far.

Setup is  RB and Winsend/Libhomeradar all on one PC that is part of a 3 machine LAN  using  a Netgear DG834G  router . The 3 machines have fixed local IPs.

What I have done....

Installed both Libhomeradar and winsend2.

Added Radarbox.libhomeradar.org as a  server in Libhomeradar in Slot1,slot2 is the SBS server...both of these usually connect as soon as you start  Libhomeradar.

In Winsend I have added  127.0.0.1 and Port  7879 to the .ini file  under Radarbox.
 I have allowed  Port 7879 /TCP  in the router Firewall rules

However it still shows as "not activated" in Winsend control panel.

Do I need to be adding 33333 or 8080 to the router FW? If so under what protocol?

I'm obviously missing something here  but can't see what .

MTIA
5 Miles N of BHD at 50.28.28 N/3.30.43W...400ft amsl.

Hampshire, Devon, Dorset and Isle of Wight  Airfields Websites.....
http://devonairfields.tripod.com/index.htm

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Using Winsend.
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2009, 07:59:16 AM »
Have you tried RB's port 30003 output instead of port 7879?

daveg4otu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Re: Using Winsend.
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2009, 08:09:59 AM »
As far as I can work out port 30003 is for SBS ..altho' in fact in the Winsend control panel  it  shows Localhost/port 30003 as connected under the SBS  "input source" as connected (Don't have SBS!) and  Radarbox input  as 127.0.0.1/7879 as " not activated".

I have at various times tried  7879,8080,30003 and 33333 as ports, and  assorted names /IPs  as the hostname including  127.0.0.1, Localhost, Libhomeradar.org   etc.

Have allowed both 7879 and 8080 at various times in the Router FW rules, tried TCP, UDP, TCP/UDP...nothing seems to make any diff.

Not that this  is of world shattering importance.... but just  thought it would be nice to feed info to Libhomeradar if at all possible.
5 Miles N of BHD at 50.28.28 N/3.30.43W...400ft amsl.

Hampshire, Devon, Dorset and Isle of Wight  Airfields Websites.....
http://devonairfields.tripod.com/index.htm

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Using Winsend.
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2009, 08:12:18 AM »
One other thought on this.  Remember, Radarbox v2.0 can only handle ONE connection on any of it's ports.  If you try to connect 2+ things to a port, only the first connection gets valid data.

daveg4otu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Re: Using Winsend.
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2009, 08:19:46 AM »
Didn't know that - thanks-but as it stands  RB is running with nothing else  tied into it...so  don't think that would be the problem (but can't say categorically that it isn't).

Winsend/LHR instructions are a bit on the vague side ..will keep plugging away at it  later  ...and wait for any further suggestions.....

:)
5 Miles N of BHD at 50.28.28 N/3.30.43W...400ft amsl.

Hampshire, Devon, Dorset and Isle of Wight  Airfields Websites.....
http://devonairfields.tripod.com/index.htm

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: Using Winsend.
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2009, 09:38:13 AM »
As far as I can work out port 30003 is for SBS ..altho' in fact in the Winsend control panel  it  shows Localhost/port 30003 as connected under the SBS  "input source" as connected (Don't have SBS!) and  Radarbox input  as 127.0.0.1/7879 as " not activated".

I have at various times tried  7879,8080,30003 and 33333 as ports, and  assorted names /IPs  as the hostname including  127.0.0.1, Localhost, Libhomeradar.org   etc.

What comes out of the RadarBox 7879 port (namely an XML stream) is completely different from what comes out of port 30003 on either SBS/BaseStation or RadarBox (the latter emulates the former, although it's not currently 100% compatible).

I'd suggest asking the libhomeradar folks exactly what format their interface requires.  If it's the SBS/BaseStation 30003 format, then it ought also to work with RadarBox port 30003.
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour