anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Why is the "box" needed?  (Read 3889 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alley cat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Why is the "box" needed?
« on: May 09, 2009, 07:11:04 AM »
I've read the instructions and it explains that the USB Box has to be connected, even if NOT using the antenna if you want to see Internet traffic.

So, I'm confused.  Why is it that the program can be bought off the net if it doesn't work without the hardware?


tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Why is the "box" needed?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2009, 08:09:48 AM »
The hardware acts as a "dongle" to ensure that you've paid for the software - I think.

Otherwise you could sell the box and still use the network.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 08:12:57 AM by tarbat »

alley cat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Why is the "box" needed?
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2009, 08:17:49 AM »
Ok, so I bought the whole thing and have read that I can install it on other people's machine.

Now, there is a window which pops up when I first run the program and ther is a "BUY the program" options - like the one way up the top of this page.

I don't understand why the program is being sold on the net, if it can't be used without the hardware......  If "I" have to have the hardware/box to use the software....

Can you understand my confusion?

It doesn't really matter, I bought the whole thing, but it just doesn't make sense to me.


tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Why is the "box" needed?
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2009, 08:21:33 AM »
I don't understand why the program is being sold on the net, if it can't be used without the hardware......  If "I" have to have the hardware/box to use the software....

I can't say I've ever seen Airnav selling the software on it's own.  Yes, you can DOWNLOAD the software and run it in DEMO mode, but you can't BUY the software on it's own.

Where is the software being sold on the net?

alley cat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Why is the "box" needed?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2009, 08:35:01 AM »
http://www.airnavsystems.com/download.html

So I get a "username/password" but no box.

Do then what?

Ok, I'm really missig something.  Sorry.   I am *NOT* trying to be difficult/smart.  I jsut don't understand how if it is "limited" to DEMO mode what's the use?

I think there is a serious problem with how I worded the question.


tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Why is the "box" needed?
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2009, 08:39:53 AM »
http://www.airnavsystems.com/download.html

So I get a "username/password" but no box.

Do then what?

Ok, I'm really missig something.  Sorry.   I am *NOT* trying to be difficult/smart.  I jsut don't understand how if it is "limited" to DEMO mode what's the use?

I think there is a serious problem with how I worded the question.



Sorry, I'm lost now.  That link lets you have a 7-day trial of Airnav's other products (Live Flight Tracker, FS Live Traffic, etc.), but not Radarbox.

If you want the Radarbox demo download, goto http://www.airnavsystems.com/RadarBox/support.html and download it.  No user/password needed.  The DEMO is great for seeing how the software works, and includes a replay of London aircraft traffic.