AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database  (Read 14929 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Brian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« on: December 11, 2008, 08:58:34 PM »
How do I go about submitting fixes on wrong information like this type of stuff ?
So it can get corrected on the AirNavSystem / other users side.

I checked/Search the forum and couldn't see where to submit fixes.
If there is a thread/topic on this.  Please post a link :)


N241AM is showing up with wrong info on RadarBox.

Wrong info:
 12/8/2008 22:11 12/6/2008 0:33 Swearingen SA-226TC Metro II ... Air Midwest  A233C2 United States N241AM
You see the old plane info on the bottom on this page as "deregistered"
http://registry.faa.gov/aircraftinquiry/NNumSQL.asp?NNumbertxt=241AM

This site has it correct.
http://www.gatwickaviationsociety.org.uk/modeslookup.asp

-Brian
RadarBox User Forum
http://radarspotters.eu/forum/
« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 08:32:36 PM by Brian »

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: submit fixes on
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2008, 09:06:45 PM »
RadarBox populates its main database from the GAS data, but I don't think that it checks GAS every time.

As RB has picked up the wrong details, just use File > Database Explorer and update the record yourself manually.

See the FAQ here:

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=628.0

Brian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: submit fixes on
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 09:42:49 PM »
Thanks for the info. 
Just wanted to make sure there wasn't another way.

I will delete the aircraft entry from Database Explorer. So it can get the new aircraft info.

-Brian
RadarBox User Forum
http://radarspotters.eu/forum/
« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 08:32:51 PM by Brian »

Brian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: submit fixes on
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2008, 07:48:50 AM »
How does the user know when "RadarBox Main Database" been updated with data from GAS data ?

Is there a page that says what "Version" the database is on ?

-Brian
RadarBox User Forum
http://radarspotters.eu/forum/
« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 08:33:07 PM by Brian »

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2008, 08:24:45 AM »
You can't tell Brian.  I believe that it's updated "regularly" but I don't know how often that is.

I think that the idea is to keep the access requests to the GAS database at a reasonable level rather than requesting information every time a new aircraft is picked up.  I'm sure that Support will be able to advise us here.

GreekSpy2001

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • Graham's Aircraft Photos
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2008, 10:52:21 AM »
Does the update replace the data on my DB or do I have to always manually edit when there is an error/wrong info?

Graham

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2008, 11:02:29 AM »
It will not update or replace data in your main NavData.db3 database, it will only add data for aircraft that are not in the database.  This is to prevent your manually editied data being overwritten.

Of course, this does mean that if there is incorrect data there already, it will not be overwritten with correct data - no other way for this to work really.

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2008, 11:47:26 AM »
It you use RadarBox (or SBS) for long enough then sooner or later you will pick up a hex code being used by an aircraft different from the one that you first picked up using that code.  Chances are it will be a US code, as they are frequently re-used, but it could be German, French, Bermudan, Israeli, etc.

Unfortunately both the RadarBox and SBS databases are designed around the assumption that hex codes will never be re-used, and so you can only have one set of aircraft details per hex code.

Short of capturing all your Mode S data to an external database and making the appropriate adjustments there, I don't know of any way around this problem.
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

GreekSpy2001

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • Graham's Aircraft Photos
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2008, 06:55:30 PM »
OK thanks

Maybe the editing facilities could be improved for a later version. Quite painful having to highlight the cell then click the edit cell button if there are many corrections to add.

Graham

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2008, 06:58:24 PM »
Double clicking the cell opens it for editing as well - only a small time saving, but every little bit helps.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9155
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2008, 07:00:09 PM »
You can also press Function key F2 instead of clicking the Edit Cell button or double-clicking - I find it speeds things up a bit.

Rod
Rod

GreekSpy2001

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • Graham's Aircraft Photos
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2008, 11:57:02 AM »
OK will try the double click/F2 and see how I get on.  Also can I edit the db whilst not running the app as performance takes a hit.  I suppose I could unplug the RB whilst doing the editiing.

Graham

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2008, 11:58:56 AM »
You can turn off "Process Hardware Flights" while you edit the database.  Or use SQLite Maestro.

GreekSpy2001

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • Graham's Aircraft Photos
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2008, 12:07:20 PM »
OK will try both and see how I get on.

Thanks

Brian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: submit fixes on FAA tail numbers for main database
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2009, 03:26:42 PM »
AirNavSystems RadarBox Database server is still sending out misinformation on this aircraft(N241AM).  After 8 months of no update.  Still waiting AirNavSystem people!  So what is it going to take to update your misinformation database and don't say GAS!  Lots of people are still waiting for other updates.  Something needs to be done this year.   Lets not wait till 2015 year on earth.

I don't know why people still buy RadarBox units from AirNavSystems! with all these bugs.

I'm sure Kinetic Avionic Product "SBS-1" unit doesn't have this problem.

Un happy RadarBox User after 5months....


-Brian
RadarBox User Forum
http://radarspotters.eu/forum/
« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 08:33:26 PM by Brian »