AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Military Callsigns  (Read 9249 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

JRS98

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Military Callsigns
« on: December 04, 2008, 03:56:27 AM »
I was a little disappointed when I found out that the Radarbox doesn't show as many Military callsigns as the SBS-1 does. I haven't seen any callsigns for C-5's or KC-135's yet. I was told by a user of both RB and SBS-1 that it's a matter of the way the two boxes decode the info. So can something be done about this or is it just the way it is?

Thanks

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2008, 06:57:20 AM »
It's on the bug list to be fixed in v2.1 - see http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=1372.0

JRS98

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2008, 07:57:59 AM »
That's good news, thanks tarbat.

Tramline

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2008, 06:08:10 PM »
I've noted that many users put 43C* in their alerts for UK Military.  Are they any other nuggets of info for USAF and other 'interesting' stuff?
Located 2 miles South of LHR.

besty

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
  • County Durham, Land of the Prince Bishops
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2008, 06:12:24 PM »
try AE0* and AE1* for usaf flights and also RCH for air mobility command flights both military and charter.

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2008, 06:22:18 PM »
KC-135 tankers of the 100thARW based at Mildenhall use the callsign QUID?? so QUID* in the callsign box will get them.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2008, 06:27:08 PM »
Tramline,

Get yourself a copy of PlanePlotter. It displays callsigns and has lots of sharers too. You can get a fully functional trial version here:

http://www.coaa.co.uk/

Then join the PlanePlotter group.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

Tramline

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2008, 08:41:42 PM »
Tramline,

Get yourself a copy of PlanePlotter. It displays callsigns and has lots of sharers too. You can get a fully functional trial version here:

http://www.coaa.co.uk/

Then join the PlanePlotter group.

Tom

Hi Tom, thanks for your help.  Was that really the right link? 
Located 2 miles South of LHR.

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2008, 09:20:13 PM »
Hi Tom, thanks for your help.  Was that really the right link?

No.  Try http://www.coaa.co.uk/planeplotter.htm
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2008, 11:05:06 PM »
Sorry, I somehow missed the end bit off the URL.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

HadNav

  • Guest
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2008, 03:13:11 AM »
Hi Tom.
I'm a new user of the RadarBox.
I downloaded and registered Planeplotter before I got the radarbox, and tried acars, with OK results. I 'm now working out how to use it with RadarBox.

I'm a new member of the yahoo PlanePlotter group :)

Nige
HadNav

Hadleigh, Suffolk
« Last Edit: December 07, 2008, 03:15:18 AM by HadNav »

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2008, 05:17:54 PM »
Hi Nige,

I use PlanePlotter with the i/o set to RadarBox tcp. You will find that due to a bug PP does not record the squawk of aircraft seen by you.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

HadNav

  • Guest
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2008, 01:46:28 AM »
Hi Tom,
Thanks for info. Do you know if this bug in PP and squawk will be sorted soon?

Nige

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Military Callsigns
« Reply #13 on: December 09, 2008, 08:17:34 AM »
Nige, the bug is in Radarbox itself.  The lack of squawk code on port output has been reported to Airnav (#17), so maybe this will be fixed in v2.1.