AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Screen Refresh Rate  (Read 15810 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Screen Refresh Rate
« on: November 24, 2008, 09:43:45 PM »
I seem to have a problem with the refresh rate on ANRB 2009. I have it set to 1000 ms but I am getting a refresh around every 3-4 seconds. When I run ANRB 2007 on the same setting it is refreshing every 1 second as it should.
Is there an obvious explaination?
« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 09:47:52 PM by dca »
9 nm south of LGW

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4126
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2008, 09:46:45 PM »
Make sure you click apply when you change the settings. It should update as per the refresh time.

If you computer is struggling to cope it may take longer to refresh.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2008, 09:49:44 PM »
I have clicked apply. The PC is absolutely fine & works as expected with the 2007 version on the same PC!
As a result of this I am choosing to run 2007 & therefore missing out on the 2009 features!
9 nm south of LGW

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2009, 08:57:01 AM »
I have had no luck with this from AirNav support since this post, other than an email to say that the technical department will have a look & possibly issue a new patch.
The problem I have is that the screen refresh rate when I run ANRB is very slow, around 4-5 seconds. When I run 2007 it is fine, at 1 second as per the setting I have.
As a consequence I run 2007 on my PC in preference to 2009 & therefore miss out on the additional features. My PC is fine, a quad core processor, 2.2Ghz & 4GB of RAM.
Can anyone offer any ideas on a solution, should I perhaps try to re-install 2009? Has anyone else had similar issues?
Thanks,
Dave
9 nm south of LGW

Deadcalm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2009, 09:21:25 AM »
Strange, isn't it, that most performance issues with RadarBox seem largely to affect high specification machines.  I run a Quad and have had a number of problems which so far have generally been unresolved - slow or unresponsive menus, for example.  We're all waiting for the new version promised later this month, but if the other core problems persist, what then?

DC
Go around, I say again go around...

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2009, 09:28:33 AM »
dca, what virus software are you running.

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2009, 09:31:13 AM »
Windows Live OneCare (Microsoft)
9 nm south of LGW

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2009, 09:36:10 AM »
I wonder whether OneCare needs an exception setup to stop it scanning the Radarbox folder.  That's a common cause of poor performance in Radarbox, as every photo gets scanned for viruses.  Worth trying to setup an exception.

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2009, 09:40:43 AM »
Thanks Tarbat.
Is this fairly simple to do? I have just opened OneCare up & I can't see anywhere obvious to do it.
If the phot's are causing a problem could it be that I deselect that option? I am going to try it anyway...
9 nm south of LGW

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2009, 09:58:33 AM »
Great! I have deselected the photo option & I am still getting photo's!! And still a slow refresh rate!
As much as I love this piece of kit it can be so frustrating too!
9 nm south of LGW

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2009, 10:07:05 AM »
I don't know anything about OneCare, but you'll need to exclude the Radarbox folder, and the equivalent folder in the Virtual Store (if running Vista), to stop your PC getting IO bound doing virus checks on all the updates that RB makes while it's running.

Until I did that with Norton Anti-virus, my PC would grind to a halt.  Anti-virus software easily becomes IO bound if it's checking loads of files.  CPU load will remain low, because its the IO subsystem that takes the hit.

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2009, 10:18:44 AM »
Would that not affect the 2007 version too though? I have no issues with the refresh rate in that version.
9 nm south of LGW

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2009, 10:23:43 AM »
Sorry, I don't know if this was a problem in 2007 version.  All I'm saying is that it's worth a try, what have you got to lose?  Setting up exceptions in Norton worked for me, and it also works for AVG anti-virus software, so it may help with your problem, and it may not.

The 2009 version moved to multi-thread processing, so maybe that has an impact.

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2009, 10:26:26 AM »
ok, thanks again for you help Tarbat.
9 nm south of LGW

dca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Screen Refresh Rate
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2009, 10:37:09 AM »
Tarbat, one last question please...I have set up the exclusion now but where do I find the 'virtual store'?
9 nm south of LGW