AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts  (Read 21335 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4126
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2008, 10:39:04 AM »
Intresting point allowing the output of live data except the position details. We will think about that.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
[email protected]

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2008, 11:06:33 AM »
Yes tarbat, delaying the Port 30003 data by 5 minutes will make SquawkBox less interesting. The best solution from the point of view of SquawkBox and any other third party add-on programs that want to get flight data from RadarBox would be to have RadarBox output the contents of the MyFlights table but without the positional information. This as I understand it would not be a security issue because the positional data is not present and so would not need to be delayed.

I understand that the RadarBox port 30003 output is still a work-in-progress, but for full compatibility with the SBS-1 (which it's supposed to be emulating) AIR (new hex code) and ID (new callsign) messages should be output in real-time.

Neither of these, unfortunately, contains the squawk - this is in the MSG Type 6 output, together with altitude and the flag fields.  If RadarBox V2.1 were to output the Type 6 MSG in real-time, that would be a useful precedent to set.
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2008, 12:38:13 PM »
Oh, by the way, at the request of one of the guys on the SBS forum I've updated SquawkBox to provide the possibility to scroll flights vertically as well as horizontally.

Nice Andy, I prefer the vertical scrolling and that's how I'm using SquawkBox now.

Complete trivia, but is it possible to line up the columns in the vertical scrolling display.  I think that the maximum number of characters in the Flight ID should be 7(?), but many are 5 or 6 characters.  SSR codes are always going to be 4 characters etc.

« Last Edit: December 05, 2008, 12:41:23 PM by Allocator »

Andy Frost

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • SquawkBox
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2008, 01:51:13 PM »
Yes that's possible. Done and uploaded!



The positions of the columns will depend on the fonts chosen and the length of the longest flight number.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2008, 01:59:53 PM »
You're a star Andy :-)

Thanks for that!

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2008, 11:34:59 AM »
hi there, I downloaded and installed SquawkBox but the program when I try to run it gives errors, the installation was easy and completed. any help?

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2008, 11:38:49 AM »
Airnav, could you incorporate this program into V2.1? that will be awsome! I will post my error tonight with Squawkbok

rgs M

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2008, 11:47:47 AM »
Airnav, could you incorporate this program into V2.1? that will be awsome!

Unfortunately, Airnav have already rejected the idea - see http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=1284
« Last Edit: December 06, 2008, 11:59:11 AM by tarbat »

Andy Frost

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • SquawkBox
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #23 on: December 06, 2008, 03:07:13 PM »
At the request of one of the guys on the SBS forum (I seemed to have used that sentence before!) I've added an option to force SquawkBox to display the ModeS, even if it has the flight number or aircraft registration, normally flight number and aircraft registration take precedence over ModeS if it they are available.

Marc, let me know what your error(s) are, please describe what you are seeing.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #24 on: December 06, 2008, 05:44:30 PM »
Allocator, you won't see any aircraft without ADS/B, as they're not output on port 30003.  Try using a recording file instead, although that's 5-minute delayed of course :(

OK, I'm with it now.  I misunderstood the reading of the recorded file as an "after the event" off-line type function.

I've got RB and SquawkBox running and I've selected RB Recording.  I've selected "Load a Recorded File" in SquawkBox and now I'm seeing the data (5 minutes delayed) as advertised, including the aircraft without position data (see ZH537) - excellent.

I've got all my military code blocks set up in the SquawkBox Alerts to give me red text so that it shows up well.  I've also got 7700, 7600, 7500 set to give a colour change and an audio alarm.

Of course, it would be better if it was live, so a RB option to output data live but without position information, would be very good here.

I'm liking SquawkBox more and more :-)

« Last Edit: December 06, 2008, 05:47:05 PM by Allocator »

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #25 on: December 06, 2008, 06:59:28 PM »
Hi Andy, herewith the error:

Microsoft .NET Framework V2.0 installed

When starting the application a box pop up saying the following when I click on details:

------------

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.MissingMethodException: Method not found: 'System.String System.Windows.Forms.OpenFileDialog.get_SafeFileName()'.
   at SquawkBox.SquawkForm.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
SquawkBox
    Assembly Version: 2.1.3257.20788
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/AirNav%20Systems/AirNav%20RadarBox%202009/squawkbox/SquawkBox.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
SQLite.NET
    Assembly Version: 0.21.1869.3794
    Win32 Version: 0.21.1869.3794
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/AirNav%20Systems/AirNav%20RadarBox%202009/squawkbox/SQLite.NET.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Data
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_32/System.Data/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Data.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


Andy Frost

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • SquawkBox
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #26 on: December 06, 2008, 10:21:44 PM »
Marc, there only two places in the program where OpenFileDialog (which appears in your error log) is called; when a recorded file is opened or when you select a wav file for an alert sound, but it seems you are not getting this far. I'll pm you with a Debug version which logs what it does and we'll see if we can sort this out.


marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #27 on: December 07, 2008, 07:11:25 PM »
hi Andy, pm sent with the files as requested
Marc

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #28 on: December 07, 2008, 07:12:19 PM »
The debug file contains the following:

21:01:44 See if C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\NavData.db3 exists on startup directory
21:01:44 File doesn't exist, read registry to get RadarBox install dir
21:01:44 Got dir, use path C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\Data\
21:01:44 Delete the file: C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\NavDataCopy.db3
21:01:44 Copy NavData.db3 from C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\Data\NavData.db3 to C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\NavDataCopy.db3
21:02:32 See if C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\NavData.db3 exists on startup directory
21:02:32 It exists, open db3 file at C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\
21:02:32 Delete the file: C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\NavDataCopy.db3
21:02:32 Copy NavData.db3 from C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\NavData.db3 to C:\Program Files\AirNav Systems\AirNav RadarBox 2009\squawkbox\NavDataCopy.db3

vonsmalhausen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 733
Re: SquawkBox now has filters and alerts
« Reply #29 on: December 16, 2008, 12:33:33 PM »
just installed Squawkbox, so i still have to learn how to use it properly, but i noticed the squawk codes for a flight are not always the same on RB and SqB : for example, just had flight CYP358 / 5B-DBB with squawk 4115 on Radarbox and 1736 on squawkbox, .... how come ???
i also just beginning to use RB, so i still have to learne a lot :-)