AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: When i buy one...  (Read 8281 times)

meesh

When i buy one...
« on: October 20, 2008, 03:01:21 PM »
Please (as i am no computer genius) could somebody explain to me exactly what i will get,then have to do once I have purchased my radar box.
How simple is it??
Just plug in ,load the cd then is that it??
Need questions answering like-
Where will i put the antenna
What other hardware do i need to buy etc etc
Please help guys,I am new to this but very desperate to purchase a radar box asap,but I need to know what I am doing first !!!
Thanks in advance
Meesh

RodBearden

• Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: When i buy one...
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2008, 03:27:53 PM »
Hi Meesh and welcome.

Not asking many questions, are you!  :-)

All you need is a PC, although some people have sucessfully used a Mac. You need a good view of the sky from somewhere near your computer, so that the aerial supplied with the box can also have a good view, because it's line-of-sight - it can see the same way as we humans can see.

If you can't arrange it like that, you need an external aerial to fix on the roof to get a better view (about 50 GB pounds), and low-loss cable to connect it to the RadarBox. I've got 15m of cable that cost me 100 GB pounds, including the adaptor to connect it. Some people use a mast-head pre-amplifier to boost the signal, but I'm happy without one.

After that, you just need to download the full version of the latest software from this site http://www.airnavsystems.com/RadarBox/support.html (you can download it in advance and run it in demo mode for free - strongly recommended), and then it is literally plug-and-play. You don't need the CD at all, except that it carries the ID and password to get the box running.