AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: FTP again...  (Read 31197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #45 on: January 11, 2009, 02:30:59 PM »
Yes, seems to refresh the image okay in Internet Explorer, but not in Firefox.

Searching around, this appears to be a common problem.  There's Javascript around to refersh images, I'll try those later.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #46 on: January 11, 2009, 02:34:57 PM »
Your shot just updated to 14:24 at 14:37

Maybe there's something going on in the background here with the free host?  I works a treat using the Demon ISP.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #47 on: January 11, 2009, 02:44:46 PM »
Seems to be a Firefox problem.  Seems to be refreshing okay in IE.  Allocator, can you try my page in IE.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2009, 02:47:15 PM by tarbat »

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #48 on: January 11, 2009, 03:11:17 PM »
This Javascript seems to force an image refresh.

<html>
<head>
<title>Radarbox at Portmahomack</title>
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="60; URL=http://www.tarbat.gofreeserve.com/radarbox.htm">
<meta http-equiv="expires" content="0">
<script type="text/JavaScript">
<!--
function timedRefresh(timeoutPeriod) {
   setTimeout("location.reload(true);",timeoutPeriod);
}
//   -->
</script>
</head>
<body onload="JavaScript:timedRefresh(60000);">
<iframe width="565" height="601" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://www.tarbat.gofreeserve.com/shot/RadarBoxScreenShot.gif?xx"></iframe>
</body>
</html>

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #49 on: January 11, 2009, 03:27:10 PM »
I've saved that and I'll try it later - thanks tarbat.

Going to be up in your part of the world next week - got a briefing to do at EGQS.  Lets hope I don't get caught in the snow like last time!  Looks like it's raining now though :-)

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #50 on: January 11, 2009, 04:45:10 PM »
Allocator, hope the weather's better than it is now - gales force winds and rain :(

I've been reading various forums about image refreshes, and this seems to be a Firefox problem.  Using the following HTML, I can get the image to refresh every 60 seconds in Internet Explorer, but not in Firefox.  http://www.tarbat.gofreeserve.com/radarbox.htm

Has anyone found how to force Firefox to not use the cached image, and instead download the new image?

<html>
<head>
<title>Radarbox at Portmahomack</title>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="refresh" content="60">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="expires" content="0">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Cache-Control" CONTENT="no-store">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma-directive" CONTENT="no-cache">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Cache-Directive" CONTENT="no-cache">
<body>
<iframe width="565" height="601" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://www.tarbat.gofreeserve.com/shot/RadarBoxScreenShot.gif?<%=(new java.util.Date()).getTime()%>"></iframe>
</body>
</html>
« Last Edit: January 11, 2009, 04:48:45 PM by tarbat »

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #51 on: January 12, 2009, 12:27:29 PM »
tarbat

Just taken a look at your page In IE and everything seems to be ok - refreshing ok.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #52 on: January 12, 2009, 12:54:50 PM »
Thanks Andy.  Yes, it just seems to be a Firefox problem.  So, does anyone know how to force Firefox to NOT use the cached image on the user's PC?

http://www.tarbat.gofreeserve.com/radarbox.htm

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #53 on: January 12, 2009, 01:05:05 PM »
Thanks Andy.  Yes, it just seems to be a Firefox problem.  So, does anyone know how to force Firefox to NOT use the cached image on the user's PC?

http://www.tarbat.gofreeserve.com/radarbox.htm

Might this help you?

http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum91/3026.htm

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #54 on: January 12, 2009, 05:19:02 PM »
I've found that the following refreshed the image correctly in Firefox as well IE.
<html>
<head>
<title>Radarbox</title>
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="60">
<meta http-equiv="expires" content="0">
<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache">
<meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-store">
<meta http-equiv="Pragma-directive" content="no-cache">
<meta http-equiv="Cache-Directive" content="no-cache">
<body bgcolor="#000000">
<h3 align="center"><font color="#ff8000">Radarbox at Portmahomack</font></h3>
<p align="center"><font color="#ff8000"></font></p>
<p align="center"><font color="#ff8000"><img height="601" hspace="0" src="http://www.tarbat.gofreeserve.com/shot/RadarBoxScreenShot.gif?<%=(new java.util.Date()).getTime()%>" width=565 align=center border=2></font></p><font color="#ff8000" >
<hr>
<p align="center"> </font><font color="#ff8000" size="4">This is a 5-minute delayed feed from my Airnav Radarbox</font></p>
</body>
</html>

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: FTP again...
« Reply #55 on: January 13, 2009, 10:36:36 AM »
Hi tarbat,

I'd just like to say thanks for the code above. I've now got my screen displaying on my website successfully.

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk