anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: New antenna and amplifier  (Read 53189 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Big I

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #45 on: September 02, 2008, 08:17:30 PM »
Danielson--That is correct.Diamond 777 is designed to receive both VHF and UHF transmissions.

Danielsen

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #46 on: September 03, 2008, 07:02:12 PM »
Danielson--That is correct.Diamond 777 is designed to receive both VHF and UHF transmissions.

Alright thanks alot. Cheers mate

Wer3Y

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #47 on: September 08, 2008, 07:39:14 PM »
can any one confirm is this the best set up for airnav

- GP-1090 Antenna
- 1m low loss cable Ecoflex-10 with N connectors
- Mast pre-amplifier AS-1090
- 10 or 20m low loss cable Ecoflex-10 with N connectors
- AS-1090BT Bias-T for DC-Feed
- 1m Cable BNC/SMA
-= W e r 3 Y =-

WiMo

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #48 on: September 09, 2008, 07:14:17 AM »
I suggest you read the feedback of others using this equipment in this forum.

I will refrain from further comments since we are the supplier of this antenna kit :-)

Rgds,
Ekki/WiMo

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #49 on: September 09, 2008, 07:23:11 AM »
Wer3Y, yes that's exactly the antenna and pre-amp that I'm now using, and that has given me a 64% increase in area coverage.

You can either buy it direct from Airnav ( http://www.airnavsystems.com/radarbox/order.html ), or from Wimo.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2008, 07:25:32 AM by tarbat »

CarlosAbreu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2815
  • The sky is not the limit
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #50 on: September 09, 2008, 01:18:49 PM »
Wer3Y

Since i use the Wimo Kit antenna (10m wire) I had a very big increase in reception, I can't quantify the improvement as tarbat did but I can say it was brutal...!!!

I live very near Lisbon Airport (LPPT) and I pick up flights normally around 200NM pratically in every direction (one of these days I remember one at 215NM). However the Polar diagram says I can go until +/- 315NM (probably in a day with excellent reception conditions).

With the supplied ANRB antenna 80NM or 100MN were good results. Please take note of geography of your local, this factor is relevant to a good reception.

In my personal case I have no doubt, I strongly recommend the Wimo Kit for ANRB.

Brgds
CA
Station: Primetec PGANRB100514
Antenna: Wimo GP-1090 (AS-1090/BT-1090)
Cable: Ecoflex 10 (15m)

Station: XRange2 PGANRB501386
Antenna: Airnav Systems
Cable: LBC240 00220M (15m)


kaifone

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #51 on: September 09, 2009, 11:19:35 AM »
Take a look at the Antenna Kit recommended by Airnav at http://www.airnavsystems.com/radarbox/order.html

It contains:
- GP-1090 Antenna
- 1m low loss cable Ecoflex-10 with N connectors
- Mast pre-amplifier AS-1090
- 10 or 20m low loss cable Ecoflex-10 with N connectors
- AS-1090BT Bias-T for DC-Feed
- 1m Cable BNC/SMA

hello RB friends
I have been reading from you about a high gain external antenna kit and having seen the alternatives (found here) , I reached the conclusion that I will go for the AN solution.
I made my order!


pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #52 on: October 17, 2009, 05:37:48 AM »
I have just installed the new external antenna/pre amp from AirNav, and have noticed that when the pre-amp is powered the Radarbox actually receives LESS aircraft than when the pre-amp is not powered.

Can anyone shed any light on why this might be so??

The new aerial without power receives more than my old antenna did, Just curious what is going on with the preamp that is actually degrading the signal.

Its cabled like so - Looks to me like the cabling is all correct.

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #53 on: October 17, 2009, 05:49:18 AM »
What's your the type and length of the cable you have in use?

Because it might be possible that if you are using an extremely lossless cable like the Ecoflex 15 at a very short length, the activation of the Amp can cause an "over steering" of the receiver in the Radar Box.

A second issue might be a to "small" power supply which can drive the preamp into a state of "not functioning as aspected".
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #54 on: October 17, 2009, 06:03:52 AM »
What's your the type and length of the cable you have in use?

A second issue might be a to "small" power supply which can drive the preamp into a state of "not functioning as aspected".

Its the Antenna kit from AirNav, so

- RADAR-EXTENDER Antenna
- 1m low loss cable: westflex-103 with N connectors
- Mast pre-amplifier AS-1090
- 10m low loss cable: westflex-103 with N connectors
- AS-1090BT Bias-T for DC-Feed
- 1m cable with BNC/SMA

I've also tried 2 different power supplies, both 12v DC 1.2amp, -ve earth.

The Aerial itself with no PSU is actually working pretty well with no PSU, I'm wondering if the Radarbox itself is supplying some power, or whether if I sort out the pre-amp issue I might get even better results!
« Last Edit: October 17, 2009, 06:08:07 AM by pjm »

Cumulus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #55 on: October 17, 2009, 07:04:41 AM »


Hi PJM,

The Elad preamp is fitted with a relay which bypasses the amplifier when the DC is removed. The amplifier may be faulty.

Cheers,

Peter

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #56 on: October 17, 2009, 09:53:52 AM »
The amplifier may be faulty.
This could be true.

Long Shot: By plugging in the PWR supply you somehow may coupling in other signals with the frequency (1090Mhz) you try to receive.
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.01.001 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Ant.: DPD Productions ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Base Antenna
AMP: Kuhne electr. KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 25m of ECOFLEX 15+
NB: Asus P53E 24/7 op.
PC: 28"4K + 24" Monitor
AirSpy mini @RPi3

Jeremy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Jeremy
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #57 on: October 17, 2009, 09:59:09 AM »
Where have you put the amplifier? It must be with the aerial not at the bottom as this will increase noise as well as signal.
J.
G4DOQ
QRZ.com

pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #58 on: October 17, 2009, 10:04:59 AM »
Where have you put the amplifier? It must be with the aerial not at the bottom as this will increase noise as well as signal.

Its about 1 foot below the Antenna, its pretty much impossible to install it any other way with the type of connectors on each device/cable/flyleads.

pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: New antenna and amplifier
« Reply #59 on: October 17, 2009, 10:09:49 AM »
Long Shot: By plugging in the PWR supply you somehow may coupling in other signals with the frequency (1090Mhz) you try to receive.

Have now tried it with 3 different PSU's, of different types, pretty unlikely they would all be producing 12v DC with some spurious 1090Mhz signals!