AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Do you need to be near a mayjor airport in order to get the most out of RB?  (Read 5281 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Johnn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Y'ello
I Live Like 90 Miles From The Nearest Airport :(

Thanks
Johnn -

Deadcalm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: Do you need to be near a mayjor airport in order to get the most out of RB?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2008, 09:51:00 AM »
Me too.  But I can (or could before my aerial preamp failed!) see aircraft all around me for about 250 miles in my own right,  and also aircraft anywhere in the world where there is a RadarBox operating.

Presumably you are interested in aviation and have some idea of flight routes around you?

DC
Go around, I say again go around...

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Do you need to be near a mayjor airport in order to get the most out of RB?
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2008, 12:33:33 PM »
I Live Like 90 Miles From The Nearest Airport :(

Thanks

I live about 150 miles from London Heatherow, but I can still see all the traffic using the RadarBox Network. See my FTP upload page here - give it 5 minutes to update as I've only just turned the PC on.

http://www.ruyton.demon.co.uk/html/airnav_radarbox.html

Deadcalm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: Do you need to be near a mayjor airport in order to get the most out of RB?
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2008, 12:47:43 PM »
Interesting route, that Shamrock 244 - EIDW - EGJJ via?
(Gone now...)

DC
Go around, I say again go around...

DaveReid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1815
    • Heathrow last 100 ADS-B arrivals
Re: Do you need to be near a mayjor airport in order to get the most out of RB?
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2008, 01:31:38 PM »
I live about 150 miles from London Heatherow, but I can still see all the traffic using the RadarBox Network. See my FTP upload page here - give it 5 minutes to update as I've only just turned the PC on.

http://www.ruyton.demon.co.uk/html/airnav_radarbox.html

Strange, I always thought the Heathrow runways were parallel  :-)
This post has been scanned for any traces of negativity, bias, sarcasm and general anti-social behaviour

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Do you need to be near a mayjor airport in order to get the most out of RB?
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2008, 02:30:57 PM »
Good enough for government work........

They're parallel on Cartesian projection, but look slightly off in Mercator. I'm sure somebody clever could explain this :-)

Ha, just zoomed in and out and not they're parallel - the wonders of modern science!

I've got height filters in to get rid of everything above 15,000ft to reduce the clutter a bit.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2008, 02:33:37 PM by Allocator »