anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Windows SP3  (Read 5024 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Roadrunner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Aviation enthusiast since school visit to Heathrow
Windows SP3
« on: July 19, 2008, 03:19:55 PM »
May be of use to someone. I have been running RB successfully on my main PC for some time but last weekend I suddenly started getting it crashing at about 10 minute intervals with a serious error message from Windows. I have been trying to work out what could have been the cause of this change as I had not knowingly uploaded any new programs or made any changes to my PC. However, I have worked out that the automatic upgrade of Service pack 3 occurred just before the first crash. I tried everything to get RB working and finally had to completely remove and re-install the full program and USB drivers before I got it to run normally.

I cant prove exclusively that SP3 was the problem but a process of nothing else being done to my PC makes me think it could have disrupted something.

Regards

Mike

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Windows SP3
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2008, 03:23:54 PM »
Which version of Windows?  I installed Service Pack 1 onto my Vista PC without any side effects.

EDIT: Okay, I see that XP has had a service pack release as well, so I'm guessing it's Windows XP.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2008, 03:26:59 PM by tarbat »

Roadrunner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Aviation enthusiast since school visit to Heathrow
Re: Windows SP3
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2008, 04:04:22 PM »
Sorry should have said I am running XP and SP3 has just been generally released.

One thing I have also noted is my CPU usage is now running at between 35-75% with only ANRB2008 running.

Mike

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Windows SP3
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2008, 04:09:05 PM »
I installed SP3 when it first came out and it doesn't seem to have affected RB at all.

Roadrunner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Aviation enthusiast since school visit to Heathrow
Re: Windows SP3
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2008, 04:57:30 PM »
As I said in my post, it may be a coincident or there may be darker forces at work :-)

nortonbeak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • RadarBox MVT7100 PCR1000 M0NBK
Re: Windows SP3
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2008, 05:27:19 PM »
There is a serious issue with SP3 on HP computers with AMD processors.

See here


http://www.kinetic-avionics.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7323


for example.

Roadrunner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Aviation enthusiast since school visit to Heathrow
Re: Windows SP3
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2008, 11:24:18 AM »
Hi everyone,

I have finally established what was causing my RadarBox to crash and it was not Windows SP3 for XP.

Somehow in the transfer of RB from Laptop to main PC I had managed to install driver version 2.0.0.0. rather than the latest 2.2.4.0. 

I had followed the manual instructions but initially had not noticed that it had loaded v2.0.0.0.  When I did notice I used the update drivers option for loading the Drivers but kept getting told that I had the latest drivers so I thought I would try a different approach. I used the "Don't search I will choose the driver to install" it then gave me both options
2.0.0.0 (19/05/2006)
2.2.4.0 (27/06/2007)
So naturally I chose the latest one and I have had no problems since.

Maybe if you have 2.0.0.0. and want to get to 2.2.4.0 then the above may be of use to you.

Regards

Mike