anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: radarbox 24 filters  (Read 1730 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

John1944

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
radarbox 24 filters
« on: June 08, 2023, 10:46:47 AM »
Gents. I have just loaded radarbox onto my new computer and everthing is working fine except when I go to radarbox.com I cannot see any filters only a map and aircraft.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33557
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2023, 08:21:25 PM »
They are on the bottom of the screen see the attached shot

Alan


John1944

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2023, 08:58:05 AM »
Thank for replying, however it is the flight feed, weather, filters, map options that should be at the bottom of the screen that are not visible.
I have also had a reply from Alex Johnson at support and have copied him a web picture that I see against a web photo he sent me , with all items where they should be as your photo.

John

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33557
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2023, 10:36:40 AM »
No idea why yours are not showing, haven't heard of the issue raised by anyone else,  As far as I am aware there is no way of toggling it off and on

Please dont think I am being cheeky but I take it you have scrolled right down to the bottom of the screen and what OS and browser are you using

Also are you looking at the main screen or your station screen

Alan
« Last Edit: June 09, 2023, 11:03:04 AM by Runway 31 »

John1944

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2023, 01:12:33 PM »
Alan

thankyou for your help, I have tried everything that I think could be wrong but to no avail.
On the initial loading of 24 it was all ther as it should be, it is subsequent loading that are as the attaed picture. I am using windows 11 with microsoft edge. looking at both the lap top screen as well as a monitor.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33557
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2023, 08:28:31 PM »
Try with another browser to see what its like there

Alan

John1944

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2023, 09:40:41 AM »
Alan
Tried opening with firefox, initially all looked ok. however when I was setting up the map section, the programmme froze, could not do anything not even close the programme. Had  to go into account and log out. this opened another screen which said try a free trial for 7 days. tried to log in from this screen but it wouldn't even open. closed the programme down and reloaded, same problems as before , no filters.
Have sent a more detailed report to Alex at support.
Could there be a conflict in my Radarbox 24 account?

thanks for your patience
John

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33557
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2023, 04:21:16 PM »
While you have tried Firefox and its not working try Chrome, it may be an issue with coding for Firefox.  I wouldnt think there is an issue with your account.  Try clicking on this link to see what happens https://www.radarbox.com/

I have just tried Firefox on W10 with Radarbox and its working as expected

Alan
« Last Edit: June 10, 2023, 04:29:18 PM by Runway 31 »

John1944

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2023, 05:12:42 PM »
Alan
Yes I opened chrome and it appears to be working correctly.Thank you very much for your time spent solving my problem.

Best Regards

John

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33557
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2023, 05:43:52 PM »
It appears to be an issue with Firefox, I will pass it on for correction

Alan

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33557
Re: radarbox 24 filters
« Reply #10 on: June 14, 2023, 08:28:04 PM »
John

I passed on your info to a developer who looked into your issue and he has advised he found an issue causing what you experienced.  A fix has now been applied can you confirm it is now corrected

Alan