anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats  (Read 3237 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ei2jp

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« on: May 24, 2023, 02:25:49 PM »
I refer to station EXTRPI002124

I'm using the mlat-client debian package installed on RPi Debian Buster.

mlat-client is running, in the log files I see it successfully connecting to the AirNav MLAT server, and it is reporting MLAT stats every 15(?) minutes.  All good so far.

However, I get no MLAT statistics at all on the dashboard:

https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI002124

This has been going on for some time, even though the mlat-client log clearly shows that MLAT information is being sent via TCP transport to AirNav.

Has anyone else run into this issue and, if so, how did they resolve it?

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33766
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2023, 07:27:15 PM »
Have you eddited your exact location lat/lon in addition to adding it in as Rosslare

Alan

RZEE

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2023, 09:48:34 AM »
Got similar issues with MLAT on Buster.

Only in Bullseye i can get reliable MLAT results station EXTRPI011916

ei2jp

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2023, 03:47:11 PM »
My mlat-client config file:

Code: [Select]
# mlat-client configuration file
# This is a POSIX shell fragment.
# You can edit this file directly, or use
# "dpkg-reconfigure mlat-client"

# Start the client?
START_CLIENT="yes"

# System user to run as.
RUN_AS_USER="mlat"

# User to log into the server as
SERVER_USER="EXTRPI002124"

# Logfile to log to
LOGFILE="/var/log/rb-mlat-client.log"

# Input receiver type (dump1090, beast, radarcape_12mhz, radarcape_gps, sbs)
INPUT_TYPE="radarcape_gps"

# Input host:port to connect to for Beast-format messages
INPUT_HOSTPORT="radarcape.dhco.org:10002"

# Multilateration server host:port to provide data to
SERVER_HOSTPORT="mlat1.rb24.com:40900"

# Latitude of the receiver, in decimal degrees
LAT="52.26353"

# Longitude of the receiver, in decimal degrees
LON="-6.38025"

# Altitude of the receiver, in metres
ALT="18"

# List of result connections/listeners to establish.
# This should be a space-separated list of values suitable for passing to
# the --results option (see mlat-client --help for syntax)
RESULTS="basestation,listen,31003"

# Other arguments to pass to mlat-client
EXTRA_ARGS=""


ei2jp

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2023, 04:03:46 PM »
Output from systemctl status:

Code: [Select]
       
sudo systemctl status mlat-client.service
● mlat-client.service - LSB: Multilateration client
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/mlat-client; generated)
   Active: active (running) since Fri 2023-06-02 15:17:03 UTC; 38min ago
     Docs: man:systemd-sysv-generator(8)
    Tasks: 1 (limit: 4454)
   CGroup: /system.slice/mlat-client.service
           └─1549 /usr/bin/python3.7 /usr/bin/mlat-client --user EXTRPI002124 --lat 52.26353 --lon -6.38025 --alt 18 --input-type radarcape_gps --input-connect radarcape

Jun 02 15:17:02 piaware systemd[1]: Starting LSB: Multilateration client...
Jun 02 15:17:03 piaware systemd[1]: Started LSB: Multilateration client.

mlat-client is sending messages to the AirNav server "Aircraft: 12 of 26 Mode S, 31 of 124 ADS-B used".

mlat is showing as active and synced on my dashboard.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33766
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2023, 08:38:26 PM »
Unfortunately I know very very little about Pi's  abcd123 is your man for help, hopefully he will be along soon

This thread may help https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=101771.0

In the meantime have you contacted [email protected] to see if they can advise

Alan

Alan
« Last Edit: June 02, 2023, 08:40:19 PM by Runway 31 »

abcd567

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2023, 04:52:03 PM »
MLAT is working now (see aatached screenshot)
What did you do? Reboot RPi?

YOUR STATION:
https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI002124

« Last Edit: June 03, 2023, 07:01:00 PM by abcd567 »

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33766
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2023, 06:38:07 PM »
While MLAT is active there are no MLAT messages received and 0 MLAT packets

Alan
« Last Edit: June 03, 2023, 06:48:40 PM by Runway 31 »

abcd567

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2023, 07:07:30 PM »
While MLAT is active there are no MLAT messages received and 0 MLAT packets

Alan

Same is the case with my Stations.
Not showing mlat data seems to be chronic fault of RB24 servers.

MY STATIONS:
https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI000008

https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI000035

https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI000036

.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2023, 07:10:51 PM by abcd567 »

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33766
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2023, 07:13:24 PM »
Hence my suggestion to ask support for advice as to why this is

Alan

abcd567

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2023, 08:57:43 PM »
Hence my suggestion to ask support for advice as to why this is

Alan


👍 👍 👍

That is a sound advise.


ei2jp

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #11 on: June 04, 2023, 01:17:40 PM »
MLAT is working now (see aatached screenshot)
What did you do? Reboot RPi?

YOUR STATION:
https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI002124

This is not the issue.  The issue is that even though I'm sending mlat data to AirNav I get no stats on my dashboard (only an indication that MLAT is active).

ei2jp

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #12 on: June 04, 2023, 01:20:06 PM »
Hence my suggestion to ask support for advice as to why this is

Alan

Alan, I shall do just that.

ei2jp

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2023, 01:24:16 PM »
Have you eddited your exact location lat/lon in addition to adding it in as Rosslare

Alan

Alan, I used their "location finder" page to get my exact location (52.263455, -6.380598) first.  Then I put those two values in both my rbfeeder.ini AND mlat-client config files, and rebooted.  MLAT packets flowing to AirNav, dashboard reporting as synced with XX servers, no stats (still).

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33766
Re: MLAT Active, 63 Stations Synced, but no MLAT Data Stats
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2023, 05:00:21 PM »
Only Airnav can advise why there are no stats showing for MLAT on your page, it may be a glitch at their end causing it.  If you dont advise they cant fix it

Alan