AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Version 1.6 anybody  (Read 39553 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

steveb25

  • Guest
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #60 on: June 23, 2008, 10:53:03 AM »
Be interested to see how many people have over 6000 entries in their databases.

According to forums about .db3 databases they have a 4Gb limit, but i would find it hard to believe that 6000 aircraft would create +4Gb of data?

Incidentally this is only effective on 32-bit machines 64-bit don't have this restrictions

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #61 on: June 23, 2008, 12:21:03 PM »
The MyLog.db3 on the laptop here is 3,343 KB

The number of records in MyLog is 10,459

I don't tend to keep the laptop MyLog up to date, so it's the desktop PC that has the accurate count and I've posted that elsewhere in the Forum.  I just copy MyLog.db3 to the laptop every now and then.

The 11,425 records that were in my desktop MyLog can't result in a much larger file.  It's worth noting that this represents 2 years of reception using the SBS-1 and RadarBox - I imported the SBS-1 records then deleted the duplicates.

Steve, I think that you are wrong about the maximum file size.  My NavData.db3 file is 18,614 KB.  Remember, the db3 file is a SQL file that just happens to have a db3 extension.  It's not a dBase III file.

« Last Edit: June 23, 2008, 12:30:46 PM by Allocator »

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #62 on: June 23, 2008, 01:27:04 PM »
I've also got over 6,500 aircraft with over 27,000 flights in MyLog.db3 - file size is 3,845KB.  And RB runs very smoothly on my 2.8GHz processor with 2GB or RAM.  Typically I have other things running as well - ShipPlotter, Email, etc...

The one thing I'd like to see fixed in v1.6 is making RB better able to cope with the PC being put into standby.  I like to run RB 24x7, but with electric costs the way they are, I'm putting the PC into standby more often.

steveb25

  • Guest
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #63 on: June 23, 2008, 01:40:39 PM »
Allocator

Yeah thanks for that. The limit was on a forum I found with relation to MYSql and not SQLite that I think the database is based around. There are still a few concerns floating around about size limits though mainly relating to SQLite being an ASCII database, whereas MySQL is a binary database. As i said before though even with your database we are no where near the limit that seem to being talked about.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #64 on: June 23, 2008, 08:05:47 PM »
For some bizarre reason, my desktop MyLog.db3 file is 35,491 KB with a record count of 11,433 aircraft.  I'm not quite sure why it is so big, although I have mucked about with it a number of times using external SQL programs.  The earliest record is 20 July 2006.

However, RB is running fine and I'm not having any problems with MyLog, so that sort of dismisses the 6000 aircraft maximum - all I've got to do now is figure out why it's so big!

Hosch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #65 on: June 23, 2008, 08:28:02 PM »
I have about 10500 aircraft in my database with 34,400 KB. Seems to be "normal". My earliest record is April 4trh 2008. If the database gets too big we add another HD ;-)

Hosch

dudbaker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #66 on: July 02, 2008, 10:01:24 AM »
Hosch

I now have some info from another thread.  I wonder if you would try something for me.  Go to taskmgr (Ctrl Alt Del) and select process tab.  Check memory usage for ANRB.exe.  If it is below 156000k then I may moving towards sorting my problem.
Dudley Baker
Stansted
G8THH
[email protected]
Valiant, Victor, Shackelton, Canberra, VC10, Tornado Typhoon 737 747 A320 A300 Engineer.

marcdeklerk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #67 on: July 05, 2008, 07:04:33 AM »
I was searching the web and came across the following link :

http://mysite.orange.co.uk/iankirbys-sbs-1logos/index.html

maby Airnav can incorporate it into V1.6?

pot the tiny pictures below the From/To line next to the aircraft pictures.. will surely look nice if no picture is avaliable..

Hosch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Version 1.6 anybody
« Reply #68 on: July 05, 2008, 08:15:11 AM »
Sorry dudbaker for the late reply. I was not at home.
ANRB.exe is about 93 700 K. Hope this helps ¨!


Hosch