AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Feeding RB from Flightaware box  (Read 2230 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

rx100

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« on: February 06, 2023, 09:23:34 PM »
https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI003427

Hi, I've been feeding RB over port 30005 for a couple of weeks now. All seems to be working fine, except that every now and then, RB loses the data feed. I also have FR24 and ADSBX on the same stream and they work 100% of the time. Also, MLAT is not working although it is active in the settings... is there anything I should change in rbfeed.ini and why is RB losing its data feed randomly ? thanks

this is the contents of rbfeed.ini

Code: [Select]
[client]
network_mode=true
log_file=/var/log/rbfeeder.log

key=xxxxx

sn=EXTRPI003427

lat=46.xxx

lon=6.xxx

alt=458

[network]
mode=beast
external_port=30005
external_host=192.168.x.xx

[mlat]
autostart_mlat=true
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.9 /usr/bin/mlat-client

[dump978]
#dump978_enabled=true

« Last Edit: February 07, 2023, 07:26:20 AM by rx100 »

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33571
Re: Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2023, 09:42:27 PM »
You shouldnt show your sharing key

Re MLAT are you on Buster or Bullseye

Maybe support can assist with your query regading loosing the data feed

Alan
« Last Edit: February 06, 2023, 09:53:02 PM by Runway 31 »

rx100

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2023, 07:32:00 AM »
thanks for your hint regarding the key ಠ_ಠ !!

I'm on bullseye.. I was hoping that by now there would be a fix other than downgrading. Maybe the occasional data loss is also related to the OS version.

Greetings

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33571
Re: Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2023, 09:20:13 AM »
I posted details of a new MLAT client in early December, re-produced below, have a look and install it

Please note that I have been advised as follows that a new MLAT client is available which should fix the previous issue

Package mlat-client is updated in our repository using the latest published version from mutability (0.2.11), but ours is "1:0.2.13" just because we need to change version number to 'force' apt-get to understand that is a new version (the code is the same).
Should work for every new installation by now.

Note that the packages are updated only for the latest (current) version of raspbian OS (AKA Bullseye), not for older versions (buster). If we have A LOT of users running older OS's, we can create a package for that.....but my recommendation is to update the operating system.

Alan

rx100

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2023, 11:36:19 AM »
Sorry if this is a stupid question but if I do a

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install mlat-client -y
a new version of the RB mlat-client will be installed and it won't interfere with the other stuff running on the Pi (see screenshot of other processes running on it) ?

thanks..

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 33571
Re: Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2023, 02:19:37 PM »
Now thats a question I cant answer as I have no knowledge of Linux

Otherwise wait till someone with Linux knowledge comes around or maybe ask support

Alan
« Last Edit: February 08, 2023, 02:25:45 PM by Runway 31 »

abcd567

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 844
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2023, 08:57:49 PM »
Sorry if this is a stupid question but if I do a

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install mlat-client -y
a new version of the RB mlat-client will be installed and it won't interfere with the other stuff running on the Pi (see screenshot of other processes running on it) ?

thanks..

(1) Yes, above command will install new version of mlat client if you run following command BEFORE running the install command

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update 

(2) No, installing new version of mlat-claient wont affect any other process currentlt running on Pi.

(3) Noted that you are using beast-splitter. Is your receiver Jetvision's Mode S Beast?

« Last Edit: February 13, 2023, 09:14:46 PM by abcd567 »

rx100

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Feeding RB from Flightaware box
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2023, 08:31:18 PM »
hi, sorry for the late reply. No, its a Flightaware Flight Feeder box. Port 30005 feeds raw/unparsed messages in Beast binary format.