anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Hardaware not connected  (Read 781 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #15 on: July 04, 2022, 03:43:07 PM »
NHS Rainer

You will need to change the serial number of the sticks to avoid conflicts, see this thread https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=105891.0

Alan

Hi Alan,

That I already did and my DUMP1090 has serial number #00000001 and the AirNav RadarBox flight stick is serial number #00000002 and it does not work ...

Will try to serialize the RadarBox stick with 0000001 and my RTL-SDR with 00000002 and see what happens

I have the light suspicion that RadarBox software only takes the first which comes up with device 0 ...

In the AirSpy software when one goes into setting one sees the dongles numbered 0,1,2, etc which has nothing to do with the serial number ...

Will let you know what happens ...

Rainer
Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32246
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2022, 04:06:47 PM »
I presume that you have tried the V6 software with only the one stick inserted to make sure that it is working

Alan

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #17 on: July 04, 2022, 04:14:29 PM »
Hi,

Exactly as I suspected RadarBox software v6.02.003 is set up un that way that it only look for Device 0 (zero) which means it only take the Dongle which has the lowest serial number ...

I think this is very narrow sighted from the developers of this software. My second dongle has now serial number #00000002 which is monitoring Meteors and the RadarBox Flight stick has serial number #00000001 which means, as I mentioned before is in the Dignle list Device 0 ...

I hope this helps other people which have the same problem to solve it ...

Rainer

PS I have to say the RadarBox program runs quite slow ... I have a internet cnnection with 100mbps download and 50mbps upload ...

Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #18 on: July 04, 2022, 04:15:31 PM »
I presume that you have tried the V6 software with only the one stick inserted to make sure that it is working

Alan

Hi Alan,

Sure and it worked and so I mentioned that I had the light suspicion that the Software only accepts dongles with the lowest serial number ...
Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32246
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #19 on: July 04, 2022, 04:19:29 PM »
The software is very old 2008/2009 with limited development since then and was designed for use with the original radarbox.  The last major development was around 2013 with the introduction of the databse updater being the main change. USB sticks were not very common when the software was introduced and the version you are using was amended to allow use with the xrange receivers following requests for their users

With regards to the speed I presume that you have network flight in use, to speed thing up untick the, Get Flights from the Radarbox Network, bottom left when you have the Network tab open.  That way you will only see the aircraft you are picking up. Downloading data from 10,000 or so flights every 20 seconds is very intensive work

Alan
« Last Edit: July 04, 2022, 04:41:57 PM by Runway 31 »

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #20 on: July 04, 2022, 04:41:45 PM »
Hi Alan,

I have a green light on Hardware connected and a green light on Real Time Network ...

Do you mean Real Time network ? and how do I disconnect that ?

My dongle at the moment receives maximum 25 flights around me at best conditions ...

I also monitor using Flightradar24 and there the upgrade is nearly instantly :-)

Rainer
« Last Edit: July 04, 2022, 04:44:35 PM by NHSARainer »
Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32246
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #21 on: July 04, 2022, 04:44:21 PM »
4th line down click on the Network tab.  When the window opens up bottom left (Untick Get flights From Radarbox Network.  The flight you are picking up are shown on the My Flights tab/Window

Although the software is old it is very versatile and can do most anything you want it to

Also there is a big difference between the software and a web based tracker such as FR24 and RB24, you will be feeding it as well through V6.  The software updates every 20 seconds

Where are you located to see if I can find you?

Alan
« Last Edit: July 04, 2022, 05:01:25 PM by Runway 31 »

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #22 on: July 04, 2022, 05:03:47 PM »
Hi Alan,

Sorry to be a bit dense myself but do not understand ...

Where is the Network tab ?

Maybe a screenshot helps faster ?

Thanks
Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32246
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #23 on: July 04, 2022, 05:06:09 PM »
See attached

Alan
« Last Edit: July 04, 2022, 05:10:29 PM by Runway 31 »

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #24 on: July 04, 2022, 05:24:27 PM »
Hi Alan,

Thanks. Got it.

Now only my detected flights show up and how can I now have the callsign etc. shown on the map for my flights ?

Thanks for your patience

Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #25 on: July 04, 2022, 05:25:59 PM »
Oh, I just saw that only at a certain zoom level the data appears on the Map too

Problem solved
Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32246
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #26 on: July 04, 2022, 05:49:55 PM »
No worries, we all have to learn.  Any queries just ask

Alan


abcd567

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #27 on: July 07, 2022, 12:30:20 AM »
Hi,

Exactly as I suspected RadarBox software v6.02.003 is set up un that way that it only look for Device 0 (zero) which means it only take the Dongle which has the lowest serial number ...

I think this is very narrow sighted from the developers of this software. My second dongle has now serial number #00000002 which is monitoring Meteors and the RadarBox Flight stick has serial number #00000001 which means, as I mentioned before is in the Dignle list Device 0 ...

I hope this helps other people which have the same problem to solve it ...

Rainer

PS I have to say the RadarBox program runs quite slow ... I have a internet cnnection with 100mbps download and 50mbps upload ...

--device <index|serial>  select device by index or serial number

Index is determined by USB slot in which the dongle is inserted. It is always a digit and can have values 0,1,2,3,4,....

Serial is the value saved by manufacturer or user in eeprom of the dongle and can be
- all digits
- all alphabets
- a combination of digits & alphabets

Serial can have from 1 to max 8 alpha numric characters like below
7
23
632
As45de
7k2z9065
00001090
00000978

« Last Edit: July 07, 2022, 12:32:05 AM by abcd567 »

NHSARainer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Hardaware not connected
« Reply #28 on: July 07, 2022, 01:37:06 AM »
Hi,

Interesting ...
Grüße Rainer

EXTSHA196530