anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: XRange 2  (Read 208 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lokyi792

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
XRange 2
« on: March 29, 2021, 10:08:52 AM »
Couple of questions:
1. Seeing as the guts of the XRange 2 is just a RPi and (currently) 1 x SDR dongle in a fancy box, is it possible to download the SD image used?
2. I notice the fancy box has Ant 2, but no second SDR installed currently, and Techminds mentioned that was going to be for VHF... so does this mean it's going to be expanded down the line and just isn't reaedy to support VHF yet?

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 30299
Re: XRange 2
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2021, 05:22:37 PM »
No unless invited to do so by support to repair a defective unit

The unit is VHF ready but the slot need to be cut out I believe to accept the VHF stick.  Some units are providing VHF at this time

Alan

Lokyi792

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: XRange 2
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2021, 07:51:07 AM »
Thanks bud,

Can't see it being worth dropping nearly $600 Australian gumnuts on basically a Pi3+SDR, for the privilege of feeder Radarbox lol.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 30299
Re: XRange 2
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2021, 08:48:02 AM »
Each to their own I suppose but not the way I would do it.  I use a flightstick does the same job for me and you can also use a stick and SDR software to do the same with the VHF

Alan
« Last Edit: April 01, 2021, 08:49:54 AM by Runway 31 »